Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Includes publications, contextual material, images, and video clips, as well as 3 indexes covering the Black experience. The Chicago Defender is cross-searchable with the Black Studies Center....more.
This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Search across all content or select one of the collections....more.
This digital collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society contains primary source American slavery and abolition materials in the form of over 3,500 printed books, pamphlets, graphics, and ephemera in full color....more.
1780-1925. Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more….more.
This HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes "every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery."....more.
Types of Resources
There are different resources for different information needs.
Reference Booksincludes encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. These types of books may be useful as you are exploring background knowledge, understanding disciplinary terminology, and fact-checking. Reference books can be in print and/or electronic format.
Books are found in the online library catalog and most circulate with three-week borrowing periods. in addition to traditional books the library has a large collection of ebooks.
Article Databasesare used for finding journal articles. Some of the databases contain general articles on many subjects, while some are more subject specific.
Statistics are useful to support an argument or making predictions.
Media can provide visual examples and explanations. Do a keyword search in the library catalog using "dvd" and your topic.
Recommended Web Siteslists specialized academic search portals, state and federal government web sites, and more freely available web sites handy for education research.