Skip to main content
Saint Louis University Libraries Research Guides
Immel Law Library       Madrid Library       Medical Center Library       Pius XII Memorial Library   

Archives & Digital Services: Welcome

Welcome!

Welcome to the Saint Louis University Archives LibGuide! This guide is intended to provide an introduction to the Archives' collections, and to assist researchers in locating and accessing relevant materials from our holdings. Please feel free to contact the Archives' staff with any additional questions you may have. 

Contact Us:

         Call 314-977-3109           
Email archives@slu.edu
Tweet us @SLUArchives

Our Mission

Role

The Saint Louis University Libraries Archives & Digital Services serves as the institutional memory of Saint Louis University and plays an integral role in the management of information resources in all media and formats.  The Archives supports the contextualization of the University within Jesuit, Catholic and Local history through the acquisition of primary and secondary source material related to the University and those subject areas.


Mission

The University Archives identifies, acquires, and maintains records of enduring value, and supporting material which chronicle the development of the University and ensure its continued existence.


Values

·         Access and Use

·         Accountability

·         Advocacy

·         Diversity

·         History and Memory

·         Preservation

·         Professionalism

·         Responsible Custody

·         Selection

·         Service

·         Social Responsibility

·         Collaboration

·         Innovation

·         Learning

 

Ethics

·         Professional Relationships

·         Judgment

·         Authenticity

·         Security and Protection

·         Access and Use

·         Privacy

·         Trust

 

Donate to the Archives

Stewardship of our unique and rare collections for present and future generations of students and scholars is a challenging responsibility – one that encompasses cataloging and description, maintaining proper climate and storage environments to ensure the long-term stability of our materials, providing access to our collections for individual researchers as well as classroom instruction and exhibits, and even building our collections through the addition of new materials in order to expand the learning and research potential for our students and faculty. Our staff is highly skilled in all these areas, but we very much welcome the involvement and support of library friends and donors to help us in our efforts.

If you are interested in making a financial gift or in donating materials to the University Archives, please contact Interim University Archivist Drew Kupsky at (314) 977-4107.

Our staff will work with you to determine whether your donation is a good match for our collections. A description or listing of the materials to be donated is very helpful in this process and should include a general estimation of quantity and condition. Donations of materials to the University Archives are evaluated on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Relevancy to university curricula and our subject area collecting profiles
  • Duplication of material in the collections
  • Physical condition of the item(s)
  • Freedom from restrictions limiting the usefulness of materials to students and faculty of Saint Louis University and visiting researchers

Saint Louis University does not provide appraisals or tax/legal advice. Donors should seek appraisals and tax/legal advice from an independent source. Appraisals for prospective donations should be obtained from a qualified appraiser.

Donations that are accepted become the property of the Saint Louis University Libraries. The Libraries reserve the right to determine the retention, location, cataloging treatment, disposition, and other considerations related to the use, maintenance, or removal of materials. A draft example of our donor agreement is available for consultation. We would be happy to discuss the donation process with you

test

Debbie's Profile

Deborah Cribbs's picture
Deborah Cribbs
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library, 307
(314) 977-3109