Skip to main content
Saint Louis University Libraries Research Guides
Immel Law Library       Madrid Library       Medical Center Library       Pius XII Memorial Library   

Aviation Science: General Searching

Here are resources for aviation science, aviation safety, crew resource management, and aviation history found in Pius XII Memorial Library and on the Web.

Your Librarian

Lee Cummings's picture
Lee Cummings
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Pius Library, 205
314-977-3590

Google Scholar

Links

Library Catalog

CoverThe Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog provides access to books and more. Searching can be expanded to include the MOBIUS consortium which includes most of the academic libraries in Missouri. Pius XII Memorial Library uses Library of Congress classification (call) numbers.

For instance, you can search by title - Human factors in aviation and get the book's call number TL553.6 .H86 2010 

E-books are also searchable via the Library Catalog, for instance the title, Safety Culture, is available at this URL.

 

Another book of interest for budding pilots: 2013 private pilot test prep [electronic resource] : study and prepare for recreational and private: airplane, helicopter, gyroplane, glider, balloon, airship, powered parachute, and weight-shift control FAA knowledge exams. Grab it here.

If you cant' find the specific resource you need?  Try WorldCat, the nation-wide library catalog.

Primary Databases

SLUth - Search Plus Advanced Search

SLUth - Search Plus

Limit Your Results

General Databases

SLU Patent Databases

Link Me Up

  • aero news network by keavy  
  • anna.aero Aviation News by Sheng Pang  
    anna.aero is an aviation news website which provides the latest airport, airline route news and analysis, produced by a team of airline network route planners led by Ralph Anker, a former network planner and a former lecturer of Cranfield University.
  • Avweb by Richard  
    Website bills itself as the "World's Premier Independent Aviation News Resouce."
  • AU Press web site by John  
    AU Press publishes books, monographs, and occasional papers that are the results of unique research by military authors and civilian scholars. The press also provides publishing support to other AU and Air Force agencies.
  • Gov Docs: Tuskegee Airmen by John  
    Paula Webb at the University of South Alabama created this guide on the Tuskegee Airmen
  • VATSIM by John  
    VATSIM is an online community where people can learn and, at the same time, enjoy the pastimes of flight simulation and air traffic control simulation all while making new friends from all over the world.
  • Airlines Still Trying to Make Passenger Boarding Less Annoying by John  
    Loading an airplane quickly and efficiently isn’t an easy task. It should be, and could be, but the humans involved can’t seem to get with the program.

Credits


Maintained by Lee Cummings, STEM Research & Instruction Librarian. Originally compiled by Lori Calcaterra and Chet Bunnell.