Skip to main content

Criminology & Criminal Justice: Get Started

Research Guides -- Overviews of the Research Process

TIP: Online sources can be searched through their source database (i.e., GVRL, EBSCO, Sage).  However, conducting a title search in the SLU Libraries Catalog is a more direct approach.
 
Bachman, R., & Schutt, R. K. (2011). Fundamentals of research in criminology and criminal justice (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     HV 6024.5 .B32 2011
 
Bachman, R., & Schutt, R. K. (2014). The practice of research in criminology and criminal justice (5th ed.). Los Angeles: Sage.
     HV 6024.5 .B33 2014
 
Maxfield, M. G., & Babbie, E. (2009). Basics of research methods for criminal justice and criminology (2nd ed.). Belmont, CA: Thomson/Wadsworth.
     HV 7419.5 .M37 2009
 
Neuman, W. L., & Wiegand, B. (2000). Criminal justice research methods: Qualitative and quantitative approaches. Boston: Allyn and Bacon.
     HV 6024.5 .N48 2000
 
Noaks, L., & Wincup, E. (2004). Criminological research: Understanding qualitative methods. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (EBSCOhost)

Report Writing

Students always should follow their instructors' directions regarding the content, organization, and format of course assignments.  However, this guide for criminal justice practitioners also may be helpful.
Miller, L.S., & Whitehead, J.T. (2011). Report writing for criminal justice professionals (4th ed.). Burlington, MA: Anderson Publishing Co.
HV 7936 .R53 M55 2011

Background Information -- Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Other Reference Publications

IMPORTANT! -- Books labeled "Ref" are located on "Reference" sections of shelving on the upstairs floors where the books' call numbers are located.  For example, books labeled "Ref. E" and "Ref. HV" are shelved on Level 2 because that's where the other items with those call numbers are shelved.  The Reference shelving sections are located at the beginning of the call number sequence on each floor.  While these books reside in the stack areas, they remain "library use only."
 
TIP: Online sources can be searched through their source database (e.g., GVRL, EBSCO, Sage).  However, conducting a title search in the SLU Libraries Catalog is a more direct approach.
 
American villains (Vols. 1-2). (2008). Pasadena, CA: Salem.
     ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 6785 .A44 2008 Vols. 1-2
 
Arrigo, B.A. (Ed.). (2014). Encyclopedia of criminal justice ethicsThousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Barak, G. (Ed.). (2007). Battleground: Criminal justice. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
     Ref. HV 7411 .B38 2007 Vols. 1-2
 
Barton-Bellessa, S.M. (Ed.). (2012). Encyclopedia of community correctionsThousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Beare, M.E. (Ed.). (2012). Encyclopedia of transnational crime and justiceThousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Borgatta, E. F., & Montgomery, R.J.V. (Eds.). (2000). Encyclopedia of sociology (2nd ed.,Vols. 1-5). New York: Macmillan.
     ONLINE (GVRL) + HM 425 .E5 2000 Vols.1-5
 
Bosworth, M. (Ed.). (2005). Encyclopedia of prisons & correctional facilities (Vols. 1-2). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (GVRL) + HV 9471 .E693 2005 Vols. 1-2
 
Brodsky, S. L. & Smitherman, H. O. (1983). Handbook of scales for research in crime and delinquency. New York: Plenum.  
      HV 9274 .B76 1983
 
Bruinsma, G., & Weisburd, D. (Eds.). (2014). Encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice.  New York: SpringerReference.
     ONLINE (Springer)
 
Bryant, C.D. (Ed.). (2001). Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior (Vols. 1-4). Philadelphia: Brunner-Routledge.
     Ref. HV 6017 .E53 2001 Vols. 1-4
 
Chambliss, W. (Ed.). (2011). Crime and criminal behavior. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
      ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Champion, D.J. (2005). American dictionary of criminal justice: Key terms and major court cases (3rd ed.). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow.
     Ref. HV 7411 .C48 2005
 
Chermack, S. & Bailey, F. Y. (Eds.). (2016). Crimes of the centuries: Notorious crimes, criminals, and criminal trials in American history (Vols. 1-3)..  Santa Barbara, CA: AC-CLIO.
     HV 6783 .C88 2016 Vols. 1-3
 
Crenshaw, M., & Pimlott, J. (Eds.). (1997). Encyclopedia of world terrorism (Vols. 1-3). Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference.
     HV 6431 .E53 1997 Vols. 1-3
Note: See also update volumes -- Ref. HV 6431 .E53 2003 Vols.1-2. Vol.1 (edited by F. Shanty & R. Picquet) covers 1996-2002 and Vol.2 (edited by J. Lalla) includes documents.
 
Cullen, F.T., Jonson, S.L., Myer, A.J., & Adler, F. (Eds.). (2011). The origins of American criminology: Advances in criminological theory. New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction Publishers.
     HV 6001 .A37 Vol.16
 
Cullen, F.T., & Wilcox, P. (Eds.). (2010). Encyclopedia of criminological theory. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
      ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Das, D.K. (Ed.). (2006). World police encyclopedia (Vols. 1-2). New York: Routledge.
     Ref. HV 7901 .W64 2006 Vols.1-2
 
DeVito, C. (2005). The encyclopedia of international organized crime. New York: Facts on File.
     Ref. HV 6441.D48 2005
 
Douglas, J.E., Burgess, A. W., Burgess, A. G., & Ressler, R. K. (Eds.). (2006). Crime classification manual: A standard system for investigating and classifying violent crimes (2nd ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
     Ref. HV 6253 .C75 2006
 
Dressler, J. (Ed.). (2002). Encyclopedia of crime and justice (2nd ed., Vols. 1-4). New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
     HV 6017 .E52 2002 Vols.1-4
 
Evans, K.M. (2012). Capital punishment: Cruel and unusual? Detroit: Thomson Gale.
     ONLINE (GVRL)
 
Finley, L.L. (Ed.). (2017). Crime and punishment in America: an encyclopedia of trends and controversies in the justice system. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
     ONLINE (GVRL)
 
Fisher, B.S., & Lab, S.P. (Eds.). (2010). Encyclopedia of victimology and crime prevention. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Gerstenfeld, P.B. (Ed.). (2006). Criminal justice (Vols. 1-3). Pasadena, CA: Salem.
     Ref. KF 9214.5 .C75 2006 Vols. 1-3
 
Gottesman, R. (1999). Violence in America: An encyclopedia (Vols. 1-3). New York: Scribner’s.
     ONLINE (GVRL)Ref. HN 90 .V5 V5474 1999 Vols. 1-3
 
Greene, J.R. (Ed.). (2007). Encyclopedia of police science (3rd ed., Vols. 1-2). New York: Routledge.
     Ref. HV 7901 .E53 2007 Vols.1-2
 
Greene, H.T., & Gabbidon, S.L. (Eds.). (2009). Encyclopedia of race and crime. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Hickey, E. (Ed.). (2003). Encyclopedia of murder & violent crime. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 6515 .E5323 2003
 
Jennings, W.G. (Ed.). (2016). Encyclopedia of crime and punishment. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: Wiley.
     ONLINE (Wiley) 
 
Jones, M., & Johnstone, P. (2012). History of criminal justice (5th ed.). Waltham, MA: Anderson Publishing.
     HV 7419 .J64 2012
 
Kelly, R. J. (2000). Encyclopedia of organized crime in the United States: From Capone's Chicago to the new urban underworld. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
     Ref. HV 6446 .K43 2000
 
Knepper, P., & Johansen, A. (Eds.). (2016). The Oxford handbook of the history of crime and criminal justice.  New York: Oxford UP.
     HV 6021 .O94 2016
 
Korsmeyer, P., & Kranzler, H. R. (Eds.). (2009). Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior (3rd ed.,Vols. 1-4). New York: Macmillian.
     ONLINE (GVRL)
 
Kurian, G.T. (Ed.). (2006). World encyclopedia of police forces and correctional systems (2nd ed.). Detroit: Thomson Gale.
     ONLINE (GVRL)
 
Lerner, K.L., & Lerner, B.W. (Eds.). (2006). Crime and punishment: Essential primary sources. Detroit: Thomson Gale.
     ONLINE (GVRL)
 
Lerner, K.L., & Lerner, B.W. (Eds.). (2006). Terrorism: Essential primary sources. Detroit: Thomson Gale.
     ONLINE (GVRL)
 
Levinson, D. (Ed.). (2002). Encyclopedia of crime and punishment (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 6017 .E524 2002 Vols. 1-4
 
McQuade, III, S. C. (Ed.). (2009). Encyclopedia of cybercrime. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
     ONLINE (GVRL) 
 
McShane, M.D., & Williams, F.P. (Eds.). (2003). Encyclopedia of juvenile justice. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 9104 .E58 2003
 
Martin, G. (2011). Encyclopedia of terrorism (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Mickolus, E. F., & Simmons, S. L. (2002). Terrorism, 1996-2001: A chronology (Vols. 1-2). Westport, CT: Greenwood.
     Ref. HV 6431 .M4992 2002 Vols. 1-2
 
Miller, J.M. (Ed.). (2009). 21st century criminology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Miller, W. (Ed.). (2012). The social history of crime and punishment in America: An encyclopediaThousand Oaks, CA: Sage. 
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Morin, J. L. (Ed.). (2016). Latinos and criminal justice: An encyclopedia.  Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood.
     HV 6791 .L38 2016
 
Nash, J.R. (Ed.). (1989). Encyclopedia of world crime: Criminal justice, criminology, and law enforcement (Vols. 1-8). Wilmette, IL: CrimeBooks.
     Ref. HV 6017 .E54 1989 Vols. 1-8 [includes updates]
 
Newton, M. (2004). The encyclopedia of high-tech crime and crime-fighting. New York: Facts on File.
     Ref. HV 6773 .N48 2004
 
Newton, M. (2003). The FBI encyclopedia. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.
     Ref. HV 8144 .F43 N48 2003
 
Palmer, L.J. (2004). Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States criminal justice system. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.
     Ref. RA 1057.55 .P34 2004
 
Peak, K.J. (Ed.). (2013). Encyclopedia of community policing and problem solving. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Pontell, H.N. (Ed.). (2016 --). Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice.  Oxford: Oxford UP.
     ONLINE (Oxford)
 
Rafter, N.H. (Ed.). (2000). Encyclopedia of women and crime. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx.
     Ref. HV 6046 .E56 2000
 
Reichel, P., & Albanese, J. (Eds.). (2014). Handbook of transnational crime and justice (2nd ed.). Los Angeles: Sage.
     ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + HV 6252 .H36 2014
 
Ritzer, G. (Ed.). (2007). Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.
     ONLINE (Blackwell)
 
Rosen, F. (2005). The historical atlas of American crime. New York: Facts on File/Checkmark Books.
     Ref. HV 6779 .R67 2005
 
Ross, J.I. (Ed.). (2013). Encyclopedia of street crime in America. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Salinger, L.M. (Ed.). (2013). Encyclopedia of white collar and corporate crime (2nd ed., Vols. 1-2). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
 
Sifakis, C. (2001). The encyclopedia of American crime (2nd ed., Vols. 1-2). New York: Facts on File.
     Ref. HV 6789 .S54 2001 Vols. 1-2
 
Sullivan, L. (Ed.). (2005). Encyclopedia of law enforcement (Vols. 1-3). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
     ONLINE (GVRL) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + HV 7921 .E53 2005 Vols. 1-3
 
Thistlethwaite,A.B., & Wooldredge, J.D. (2010). Forty studies that changed criminal justice: explorations into the history of criminal justice research. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
     K 5001 .T48 2010
 
Tilstone, W.J., Savage, K.A., & Clark, L.A. (2006). Forensic science: An encyclopedia of history, methods, and techniques. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
     Ref. HV 8073 .T55 2006
 
Wright, R.A., & Miller, J.M. (Eds.). (2005). Encyclopedia of criminology (Vols. 1-3). New York: Fitzroy Dearborn.
     Ref. HV 6017 .E5295 2005 Vols. 1-3