Skip to main content

Criminology & Criminal Justice: Find Articles

Use the Right Tool

Databases will help you find articles on a topic. Search them by subject heading, if possible, rather than by keyword.

E-Journal Portal will tell you if a particular journal is available online via the SLU Libraries.

SLU Libraries Catalog Journal Search will tell you if the SLU Libraries have a journal online, in print, or on microfilm.  It also will indicate whether a bound volume of a journal has been relocated to the Locust Street Library Facility (LSLF). 

Database Selection

Many commercial indexes to the contents of periodicals and other publication types (i.e., databases) are available at Pius Library and via the library's website. The coverage of some indexes is general and interdisciplinary; still other indexes have a subject-specific scope. Virtually all indexing services include abstracts, or summaries, of the indexed publications. Most of these resources are available in electronic format; some contain the full-text or even the full-image of the source material itself.  Click on the Libraries home page “Databases” tab to make selections by subject area OR click on the "Databases" option under the Research tab on top menu bar to display an alphabetical list of all SLU databases.  For a list of criminal justice-related databases provided by the SLU Libraries that may be useful for your research and that span multiple subject areas, click on the Databases tab of this guide.

Note: Off-campus access to web-based databases, indicated by the notation "remote access," is restricted to current Saint Louis University (SLU) students, faculty, and staff.  See Off-Campus Access to Subscription-Based E-Resources on the SLU Libraries website's Off-Campus Access page for access instructions.

Find it @ SLU

This button provides links from library databases to online full-text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article via the Journal search function in the SLU Libraries Catalog.  If the article isn't available online, in print, or on microfilm, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan's ILLiad service.

Articles published in journal volumes housed in the Locust Street Library Facility (LSLF) also can be requested via ILLiad.  In most cases, articles will be delivered electronically within 24 hours of your request, Monday-Friday.  You will receive notification at your SLU email address when requested articles are ready for download.