Skip to main content

Criminology & Criminal Justice: Databases

Criminal Justice-Related Databases

The major service used to identify information and publications in criminal justice:

Criminal Justice Abstracts.  1910 - .  EBSCOhost.  In-library and remote access.
     Search almost 500,000 records selected from the most important sources within criminal justice with over 550 titles indexed cover-to-cover. References are searchable for over 200 titles. Subjects covered include criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, and police and policing. 
 
A secondary service, freely available from the Department of Justice:
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference System) Abstracts Database.   Early 1970s - .  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  Indexes and abstracts more than 215,000 books, articles, reports and non-print media dealing with criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse.  Includes links to sources available in full text on the web.  Free public access via the NCJRS Justice Information Center website (http://www.ncjrs.gov/App/AbstractDB/AbstractDBSearch.aspx); see online tutorial at http://www.ncjrs.gov/tutorial).  Note: This public resource does not link to journals provided online by the SLU Libraries!  IMPORTANT: Academic content no longer added!
 
 
Other services used to identify information concerning specific aspects of criminal justice:
 
Business and Management
 
ABI / INFORM Complete.   1900 with some earlier -  .  ProQuest.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus.  Some full text is available for many of the publications.  Examples of areas covered are accounting and taxation, banking and finance, economics, government, health care, human resources, labor relations, marketing, public administration, real estate, etc.
 
Business Source Premier1965-  .  EBSCOhost.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  This premier business database provides indexing and abstracting for several hundred of the most important scholarly business journals "back to 1965 or the first published issue." In addition, it includes indexing and abstracting for over 6,000 business journals and magazines, many peer-reviewed, in addition to books, country economic reports, industry reports and yearbooks; SWOT analyses, market research reports, and over 67,000 Associated Press videos. Business subjects covered include "marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics." Subscription includes a companion database, Regional Business News.
 
Education
 
ERIC.   1966 -  .  EBSCOhost + Free.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  Indexes and abstracts over 1,000 educational and education-related journals as well as other materials such as technical reports, policy papers, curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports and books.  Includes links to full text of ERIC Documents (non-journal publications) when available. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education.  It is the principal index for access to the educational literature.  Includes links to full text of ERIC Documents when availableFree version at http://www.eric.ed.gov/.
 
History
 
America: History and Life.   1895-  .  EBSCOhost.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada.  Includes abstracts of articles and citations to book reviews and dissertations.
 
American State Papers1789-1838.  Readex.  In-library and remote access.
     Complete.  The American State Papers originating 1789-1838, were published in the second to third quarters of the 19th Century. This resource contains entries for 6,354 publications plus digital page images from "every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861." Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), with the remaining third chronologically overlapping the Serial Set from 1817-1838. Includes historical events such as "Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Burr's Conspiracy and Arrest, and the Treaty of the Creek Indians. . . [in addition to] speeches and messages of Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson, and Madison, delivered between April 1789 and September 1814." (text from site 1/10/18)
 
U.S. Congressional Serial Set.   Currently: 1817- 1994.  (15th Congress - 103rd Congress).  Readex.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly until complete.  Currently contains materials from the 15th Congress - 103rd Congress, 2nd Session, 1817-1994; Serial Set Vols. 1 - 14277. This digital version of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains U.S. Senate and House of Representatives reports, documents, and journals. During the pre-Civil War period of the early 19th Century, key Executive Department documents were also included in the Serial Set. Content is multidisciplinary covering political, social, cultural, and military history, international relations, and business and industrial development.  See also American State Papers (1789-1838).
 
Legal and Government Issues
 
Hein Online.   Varies by title.  William S. Hein & Co., Inc.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  Courtesy of the Law Library, this is a comprehensive collection in pdf format of U.S. law journals and other legal materials that are completely searchable. Collections currently available are listed on the "landing page" of this database.
 
Nexis Uni.   Coverage dates vary.  LexisNexis.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated continuously.  Formerly LexisNexis Academic.  Provides online access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources (court cases, statutes, legislation) for both state and federal levels.  For extensive legislative histories of United States bills, see ProQuest CongressionalAlso provides indexing for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from October 24, 1981 to date.  Watch introductory videos on YouTube to learn the basics of searching Nexis Uni.
 
PAIS Index.   1915 -  .  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  Produced by the Public Affairs Information Service, this database covers issues in public policy through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.  Subject areas include economic, political, and social issues, public administration, law, business, and political science.  Over 1,600 journals published worldwide in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish are selectively indexed each year.  PAIS Index includes both PAIS International (current file covering 1972-date) and PAIS Archive (content from printed volumes 1915-1976).
 
ProQuest Congressional.  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Update, start date, and frequency vary by file. Access to U.S. legislative information in addition to a bill tracking file from 1989-, full text for bills and resolutions from 1789- , legislative histories from 1969- , as well as selected committee prints, hot bills and topics, congressional testimony, committee reports, House and Senate documents, voting records in Congress, and member information including financial disclosures and campaign contributions.  The Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, available from the Advanced Search tab, includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-2016.  Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports are available from 2004-present.  [Note: A freely accessible database for federal legislation is Congress.gov (https://www.congress.gov/), which replaces THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet.]
 
Public Affairs Index.   Some 1937 -  .  EBSCOHost.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated ??.  Indexes and abstracts over 3,600 sources including academic journals, trade journals, conference papers, and government documents on a wide range of public affairs topics.  Coverage is both national and international.  Most titles are indexed selectively but about 250 are indexed cover to cover.
 
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.   1975 -  .  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  Indexes and abstracts "the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy."  (text from site 8/11/06)   It consists of the merged backfiles for Political Science Abstracts to 2000 and ABC POL SCI to 2000 plus expanded international coverage.  Currently 67% of the over 1,500 journals monitored for inclusion are published outside of the United States.
 
News, General, and Multidisciplinary Information 

Academic Search CompleteSome 1887 to present.  EBSCOhost.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  This multidisciplinary and multi-format database indexes and abstracts over 17,800 publications including more than 11,500 with some full text.  Over 15,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed. Other types of publications indexed and abstracted include monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Covers subjects found in college and university curriculums such as biological and medical sciences, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion & theology, sociology, and women's studies. 
 
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications: CGP.   Late 1800s .  Government Printing Office.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  The U.S. Government's index to its own publications.  Contains links to full text where available.  Freely available web resource at https://catalog.gpo.gov/.
  
CQ Researcher.   October 25, 1991-  .  CQ Press.  In-library and remote access.
     Published 48 times each year, each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth.   Search or browse by topic or by date.  Browse Issue Trackers for related reports.  Its print counterpart, originally called Editorial Research Reports, changed names to CQ Researcher beginning in 1991. 
 
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers).  1849-1996.  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers).  1851-2015.  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available. Search the full text and display pdf of article as well as position of article on the original page. Each year one additional year is digitized and added to these resources. For more recent coverage of the New York Times (1980 to present), see the New York Times in Nexis Uni.
 
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).   See Web of Science®.
Social Sciences Index.   1974 - 2003; goes back to 1907 under various titles.
[Ref. AI 1 .S6]
     This standard index covers 400+ English-language periodicals, primarily scholarly in nature, from fields such as anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice and criminology, economics, family studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. 
 
St. Louis Post-Dispatch.   Coverage dates vary. In-library and remote access.
     Use Nexis Uni for access to archival articles for local and regional news back to October 25, 1981. Back issues are available on microfilm on the Pius Lower Level (Call number AP 2 .S256).   Use the St. Louis Post-Dispatch Digital Microfilm for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch-Final Edition online from 2008 to about three months ago.  Use the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) to access digital reproductions of every page from 1874-2003.  Go the St. Louis Post- Dispatch website for late-breaking news and articles available only from that site.    
 
Web of Science®.   1990 - .  Clarivate Analytics.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated weekly.  Web of Science is one part of the larger Web of Knowledge. It indexes thousands of research journals from hundreds of disciplines.  Do a Cited Reference search by Cited Author, Cited Journal Title, or Cited Year or do a General Search by Author, Journal Title, or Address such as institution name, city, country, or even zip code.  The Web of Science® consists of Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®. ©Copyright Institute for Scientific Information 2007.
 
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).
This resource provides author and subject indexing for articles published worldwide in social science journals.  It also supports citation indexing, which establishes links between cited articles and the more recent publications in which they are cited.  Pius holds hard copy format from 1956-2000 [Ref. Z 7161 .S65; some volumes at Locust Street Library Facility].  Searchable as Web of Science® database from 1990-date.
 
WorldCat.   1200 -  .  FirstSearch.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  This database includes all types of library materials cataloged by libraries that contribute their records to OCLC, the U.S. national database.  Use to search for books, recordings, videos, Web sites, etc.  Use the Libraries' version if you are comfortable with advanced searching techniques.  For simplified searching and quick results in a library near you,
use WorldCat "Lite", a freely available Web resource (see http://www.worldcat.org/ ).
 
Psychology
 
PsycINFO.   1967 -  .  Ovid.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated weekly.  Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA).  This database indexes and abstracts the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines.  Its coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts of journals in 25+ languages, and books, book chapters, and dissertations in English.  PsycINFO links to the full-text of articles available in the journals covered by the PsycARTICLES database (which can also be searched independently), as well as to the full-text of articles appearing in many other journals for which the SLU Libraries have online access. Also produced by the (APA), PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text English-language articles, errata, and letters to the editor from journals published by the APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Content back to Volume 1, Issue 1, is included for the APA journals. A list of the titles available and their coverage dates can be found at https://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/psycarticles/coverage-list. 
 
Note: The historic PsycINFO (Pre-1967) database segment consists of citations and abstracts from Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), American Journal of Psychology (1887-1966), all APA journals back to first issue of publication, Psychological Index citations to English language journals only (1894-1935), and Classic Books in Psychology of the 20th Century and the Harvard Book List, 1840-1971.
 
Social Work
 
Social Services Abstracts.   1980 -  . ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  This database indexes over 1,406 serial publications (journals, magazines, and other serials), provides abstracts for journal articles and dissertations, and citations for book reviews. Covers the following major areas for social services: "Community and mental health services; Crisis intervention; The family and social welfare; Gerontology; Poverty and homelessness; Professional issues in social work; Social and health policy; Social services in addiction; Social work education; Social work practice; Support groups/networks; Violence, abuse, neglect; and Welfare services."  
 
Social Work Abstracts.   1965 -  . EBSCOhost.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated quarterly.  This database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, indexes and abstracts articles in over 850 social work and related human services journals as well as books and dissertations.
 
Sociology
 
Sociological Abstracts.   1952 -  .  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.  This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews from over 1,800 serials, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Journal records added since 1973 include article abstracts.  Many more recent records from key sociology journals also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference.
 
Women's Studies
 
Women's Studies International.   1972 and earlier -  .  EBSCOhost.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated twice monthly.  Women's Studies International combines Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography to provide indexing for areas in Women's Studies including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education.  Material types included are journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.