Skip to main content

Criminology & Criminal Justice: Statistics

Federal Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstract of the United States - annual compendium published by the federal government from 1878 - 2012 (discontinued due to federal budget cuts).  Available online for 2012 (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/2011/compendia/statab/131ed.html) and previous editions (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html).  Beginning with 2013, this extremely important resource is available commercially through the SLU Libraries as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.
 
Note: See also the link to Guide to State Statistical Abstracts (https://www.census.gov/library/publications/2011/compendia/statab/131ed/st-abstracts.html) for online versions of these resources.
 
See also:
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970.
Online at http://www.census.gov/library/publications/1975/compendia/hist_stats_colonial-1970.html
See revised updated print version, Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to Present, Millenial Edition [Ref. HA 202 .H57 2006 Vols. 1-5].  Volumes cover (1) population; (2)  work and welfare; (3) economic structure and performance; (4) economic sectors; and (5) governance and international relations.  See also Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts online (http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html); available in PDF and ZIP file formats.
 
‚Äč**********
Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics.  Bureau of Justice Statistics.  Annual.
http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=pbse&sid=4
            Report on case processing in the federal criminal justice system.
 
Data CollectionsBureau of Justice Statistics.
http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=dca
            Topics covered include corrections, courts, crime types, Criminal Justice Data Improvement program, employment
     and expenditure, federal, law enforcement, and victims.
 
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics.  University of Albany, Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center.  Annual.
 http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/index.html
            Data on all aspects of criminal justice in the United States.  Editions from 1994-2002 are temporarily unavailable online
    (http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/archive.html) but the Sourcebook's home page does provide some more recent data.
 
Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.  Federal Bureau of Investigation.
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/ucr
    The UCR page links to the various titles in this series, including these annual publications: Crime in the United
    States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and AssaultedUse the Uniform Crime
    Reporting Statistics tool (https://www.ucrdatatool.gov/) to build tables of national and state statistics from 1960 to
    date and for cities (populations > 10,000) and counties (populations > 25,000) from 1985 to date.
 

Global Statistics

https://dataunodc.un.org/

The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime regularly updates statistical series on crime, criminal justice, drug trafficking and prices, drug production, and drug use with data generated from national statistical systems. 

College and University Crime Statistics

Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool.  U.S. Department of Education.  Office of Postsecondary Education.
http://ope.ed.gov/campussafety/#/
 
https://www.slu.edu/about/safety/

     See the current year's Daily Crime and Fire Log and the Annual Security and Fire Safety Report, both linked from SLU's Clery Act web page (https://www.slu.edu/about/safety/clery-information.php).  Some access restricted to SLU.

Data Sets

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets.  Coverage dates vary.  Data-Planet.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  Provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data from banking to Zillow real estate data. Contains over 52 billion data points from over 6.2 billion data sets more than 75 private and governmental organizations. Data can be presented in charts, maps, graphs, and tables. For help in using Data-Planet, see the Data-Planet Statistical Dataset LibGuide.  Note: For a more user-friendly interface, see Data-Planet Statistical Reference.
  
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/index.jsp
Saint Louis University is an institutional member of the ICPSR, a repository of data from research in many social science fields, including criminal justice.  The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/NACJD/index.jsp) is one example. ICPSR data files are available to SLU students, faculty, and staff, and may be downloaded for research and teaching uses with a "MyData account" -- view the ICPSR Help page (https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/help/).