Research Guides: Aerospace Engineering: Databases and Links

General Databases and Links

Below are some of are largest and best STEM databases. If you need to do a broad or comprehensive search these are good places to start.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all the articles with illustrations from the most recent edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, over 110,000 definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Science and Technology, biographies, and the latest Science News® headlines... more.
This resource has 1 simultaneous user.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
10/1983-present. Search articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, and new product reviews on the subjects of engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology...more.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. Includes IEEE Spectrum (1964-present). Use the Citation Search to locate a known item....more
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Some 1788-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for scholarly materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities. Similar to Web of Science…..more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1990-present. WOS consists of three databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded, all of which are citation indexes. Together these index thousands of scholarly research journals from hundreds of disciplines. Do a Cited Reference search or a Topic search....more.

Specialized Databases and Links

Looking for Aerospace Engineering specific databases and links? These are great places to start.

Other good Aerospace Engineering specific databases can be found here by going to the library homepage. Here are the steps to find them:

Go to https://slu.edu/library
Scroll down and click the Databases tab
Under "Doing Research On" choose "Aviation & Engineering"
Click Search

ARC: Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
Free searching for AIAA content. SLU Libraries subscribe to several of the journals....more.
Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN) This link opens in a new window
1997-present. Browse any of the publications marked by a green checkmark, in the left-hand navigation column by clicking on the title. Use the quick search box or the Advanced Search to search all publications....more.
Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering This link opens in a new window
First published 2010. Topics covered include mechanics, propulsion, guidance and control, electronics and instrumentation, communications, computer science, systems engineering, material science, fabrication and manufacturing, and physics….more.

FAA Handbooks & Manuals (Aircraft, Aviation, Examiners & Inspectors)
* Aircraft Weight and Balance Handbook (PDF)
* Airplane Flying Handbook
* Amateur-built Aircraft & Ultralight Flight Testing Handbook (PDF)
* Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook - General
* Balloon Flying Handbook (PDF)
* Glider Flying Handbook
* Parachute Rigger Handbook (PDF)
* Rotorcraft Flying Handbook (PDF)
* Seaplane, Skiplane, and Float/Ski Equipped Helicopter Operations Handbook
* Weight-Shift Control Aircraft F
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides access to NASA's current and historical (NACA) aerospace research and engineering documents. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos.
more...less...
* NACA Collection: Citations and reports from the NACA Technical Report Server (TRS), http://naca.larc.nasa.gov, are now in NTRS. The NACA TRS site is retired and no longer in service following the consolidation of citations and reports into NTRS. The NACA collection is historical information from the NACA period lasting from 1915 to 1958.
* NASA Collection: Citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA. The NASA collection time period starts in 1958 and continues to the present.
* NIX Collection: Citations and images, photos, movies and videos downloaded from the NASA Image eXchange and served out through NTRS. NIX is a separate system and users can go directly to the NIX to search imagery as well as through NTRS.

Aerospace Engineering

Your Librarian

Ask a Librarian

General Databases and Links

Specialized Databases and Links