Skip to main content

Aerospace Engineering: Organizations

This guide identifies resources for Aerospace Engineering found in Pius XII Memorial Library and on the Web.

Your Librarian

Megan Toups's picture
Megan Toups
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library
Room 202I

NACA

NACA was established by an act of Congress, approved March 3, 1915.  The Committee was abolished by an act approved July 29, 1958; its functions were transferred to the newly established National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics
The Web site provides access to bibliographic citations to all NACA reports from 1921 to 1958, plus full text access to most of the NACA reports.

The following paper sources in the Pius Reference section are useful in locating NACA citations:

List of NACA Wartime Reports
Ref. Z 5063 .A1 U7

Index of NACA Technical Publications (1915-58)
Ref. Z 5063 .U595

Professional Organizations

Many have St. Louis regional chapters!

Trade Organizations

NASA

Missles

NASA was established by the National Aeronautics and Space Act of 1958; it is the successor to NACA.

Some of the NASA documents series are stored in the Locust Street Storage Facitlity (LSLF) and can be requested; if you need assistance contact the Pius Library Information Desk.  Three series are cataloged:

Contractor Reports Nos. 2-3800 (incomplete) TL 521.3 .C6 A3 via LSLF
Technical Notes Nos. 1-8529 (incomplete) TL 521 .A3525 via LSLF
Technical Translations Nos. 1-823 (incomplete) TL 507 .U745 via LSLF


For early NASA documents, see the Index of NASA Publications covering 1957-60 (Ref. Z 5063 .U6342).

SEARCHABLE ONLINE DATABASES FOR NASA REPORTS

NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
There are currently over 540,000 records and many full-text reports covering all aspects of aerospace-related research. Includes access to NASA generated and sponsored scientific and technical literature from the first reports of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) in 1917 to present as well as reports and articles from non-NASA aerospace sources including the Physics eprint server (arXiv), BioMed Central, the Energy Citation Database (from the U.S. Department of Energy), and Aeronautical Research Committee reports from the MAGiC project.

NASA CENTERS

Headquarters     Ames Research Center     Armstrong Flight Research Center     Glenn Research Center

Goddard Space Flight Center     Jet Propulsion Lab     Johnson Space Center     Kennedy Space Center

     Marshall Space Center     Wallops Flight Facility