Skip to main content

Chemistry: About SciFinder

Librarian-selected resources for chemistry.

Where is Find Full Text in SciFinder?

Appropriate Use

1.  SciFinder may be used by current faculty, administrative staff, and registered students at SLU.  Alumni are not eligible for access.

2.  Allowed Uses

  • Academic research
  • Teaching
  • Publication

3.  Prohibited Uses

  • Any commercial use
  • Patentability research
  • Any research done with the intention of delivering results outside of SLU

SciFinder Description

SciFinder contains both Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present) and MEDLINE.  Chemical Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 10,000 current scientific journals and patents from 63 patent authorities.  It also provides over 180,000 pre-1907 journal and patent records issued from 1808-1906.  Content includes journal articles, patents, substances (over 156 million organic and inorganic substances), chemical syntheses, links to the PDF file for US Patents, and  links out to availability and pricing information for commercially available compounds.  MEDLINE indexes and abstracts approximately 5,000 journals.  For more detailed information, see CAS Content.  For search help, check out the SciFinder Training Materials or contact Martha Allen, Interim STEM Subject Librarian.

Obtaining a Username and Password

Self-registering for your username and password

Please email Martha Allen at martha.allen@slu.edu to get the URL for creating a username and password.

SciFinder Web Access

After self-registering for your username and password, you may access SciFinder from any of the following options, both on campus and off campus.

Link directly to SciFinder - Personal Username and Password required.

http://libguides.slu.edu/chemistry

http://libraries.slu.edu/search/databases/dbsearch.php?page=S

  • Web version has a 20 minute time-out.
  • As of May 1, 2012, CAS' Academic Unlimited Access Program will provide unlimited simultaneous users for SciFinder.
  • Depending upon overall demand, CAS will do its best to provide at least 95% access.
  • Creating a personal username and password is still required.
  • Please remember to click Sign Out when you are finished.
  • Closing the browser or turning off the computer will NOT log you off.

If SciFinder is busy, please try back.

Your STEM Librarian