Chemistry

Provides articles about all the aspects of chemistry along with a knowledge base for a large number of other disciplines. Shows many ways that chemistry plays a role in daily life, making the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader and includes career information.

Its "six volumes, cover a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences."

Written by noted scholars and practitioners from around the globe, these two volumes offer nearly 500 entries describing the societal aspects of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

Since its inception in the early 1950′s, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include: A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation Sax′s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, Eleventh Edition provides an essential, up-to-date resource for professionals in industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policymaking.

3D printing has rapidly established itself as an essential enabling technology within research and industrial chemistry laboratories. Since the early 2000s, when the first research papers applying this technique began to emerge, the uptake by the chemistry community has been both diverse and extraordinary, and there is little doubt that this fascinating technology will continue to have a major impact upon the chemical sciences going forward. This book provides a timely and extensive review of the reported applications of 3D Printing techniques across all fields of chemical science. Describing, comparing, and contrasting the capabilities of all the current 3D printing technologies, this book provides both background information and reader inspiration, to enable users to fully exploit this developing technology further to advance their research, materials and products. It will be of interest across the chemical sciences in research and industrial laboratories, for chemists and engineers alike, as well as the wider science community.

Green Chemistry: An Inclusive Approach provides a broad overview of green chemistry for researchers from either an environmental science or chemistry background, starting at a more elementary level, incorporating more advanced concepts, and including more chemistry as the book progresses. Every chapter includes recent, state-of-the-art references, in particular, review articles, to introduce researchers to this field of interest and provide them with information that can be easily built upon. By bringing together experts in multiple subdisciplines of green chemistry, the editors have curated a single central resource for an introduction to the discipline as a whole. Topics include a broad array of research fields, including the chemistry of Earth's atmosphere, water and soil, the synthesis of fine chemicals, and sections on pharmaceuticals, plastics, energy related issues (energy storage, fuel cells, solar, and wind energy conversion etc., greenhouse gases and their handling, chemical toxicology issues of everyday products (from perfumes to detergents or clothing), and environmental policy issues.