Skip to main content

Theatre: Finding Articles

Library Research Guide for Theatre Arts

Search Library Catalog

Search for books using SLU Libraries' Catalog

 Advanced Search

Article Quick Search

Need an article quickly? Search several Ebsco databases here.

Theatre News

News feed from American Theatre.

Loading ...

Finding Articles

You can search for articles on or about plays through several sources. The following lists article databases in which you can search for and retieve citations. You will be able to access some of the articles online while others you will have to see if the library has a copy in print. To find articles in print, search the library catalog to see if we have the journal, magazine, or book the article appears in. To see if we have an electronic version of a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, search the E-Journal Portal.

Academic Search Complete
This is an all-encompassing database. It covers all areas of research, but is a little limited in depth. You can search this database for research articles on plays and reviews.

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete offers the ability to search only humanities and humanities-related journals for citations to articles and access some of those articles online. Coverage is from around 1980 to present.

LexisNexis Academic
This is primarily a newspaper database, but includes some magazine content. You won't find any research or scholarly articles here, but it is the largest collection of newspapers available in the library (over 10,000 newspapers from around the world with content from the past 20 years). You will find lots of reviews of plays and short articles on actors, playwrites, etc.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is probably your best source for scholarly articles on all things literary. Here you will find thousands of in-depth research articles on all find of theatre and drama related topics.

Subject Guide

Martha Allen's picture
Martha Allen
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library

Room 202D

314-977-3596