Skip to main content

* Public Policy: Books & Reference Sources

A guide to information sources for public policy research.

Search the Library Catalog

 Search for books using Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog

 Advanced Search

Did not find what you want? Search MOBIUS, the Missouri, statewide, union catalog.

Still did not locate a specific resource?  Try WorldCat, the US union catalog.

Get the Books You Need

SLU Libraries Catalog - Find books from Pius, Law and Medical Center Libraries, as well as the Libraries' Locust Street Facility. You'll also find journals, government publications, audio books, DVDs, and ebooks and other online resources.

MOBIUS Catalog - This union catalog includes most university and college libraries in the state of Missouri, as well as several public libraries. If SLU doesn't have the book you need, requesting it from MOBIUS is the fastest way to get your hands on it. You can also visit MOBIUS libraries in person to check out books.

WorldCat - The world is your oyster! Well, at least North America. Search WorldCat to find & borrow books from all over North America (and occaisionally farther afield). Books requested through WorldCat can take 6-14 days, so plan ahead!

Digital Reference Collections

Subject specific encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries are a good way to build foundational knowledge at the beginning of a project. They will give you a general overview of a topic or subject, along with at least several sources (articles or books) to find more information.

The library has access to hundreds of online encyclopedias and dictionaries. You will find them along side their print counterparts in the SLU Libraries' catalog. The items below represent large collections of encyclopedia and reference materials. You can use them to search acorss many titles at once.

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a branch of the Library of Congress which produces non-partisan reports on any issue a member of Congress requests. These are known as CRS reports and can be a great way to quickly get the background on a large issue that may have come before Congress in one form or another. CRS reports will include a history of legislation and administrative policy on an issue, as well as an overview of the issue itself.

Reference Books

Search the SLU Libraries Catalog or try one of the digital reference collections listed in the middle column to find more Public Policy reference books.