Skip to main content

Book Reviews: Social Sciences & Humanities

How to find book reviews for both popular and academic books.

Social Science and Humanities Review Sources

America: History and Life
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Includes abstracts of articles and citations to book reviews and dissertations. Material covers topics on entire range of American history; however, all materials were written from 1964-present.

Art Full Text
1984 - present
Covers the following art subjects: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, and Video. Indexing of over 350 international art publication begins in 1984. Abstracts are available from Spring 1994, and full text, most of which begins in 1997 or later, is available for approximately 100 journals. Publications indexed include journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Database covering 1990-present
Print covering 1985-1994
AI3 .A63
Pius Library Reference
This database provides author and subject indexing of articles published worldwide in arts and humanities journals. It also supports citation indexing, which establishes links between cited articles and the most recent publications in which they are cited.

ATLA Religion Database
1949-present
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this database currently indexes journal articles and book reviews from 640+ journals, some as far back as 1949, and essays in books from 1960- . Articles available in over 50 theology journals are linked to their full text.

The Catholic Periodical & Literature Index
Print covering 1967-1966
AI 3 .C32 
Pius Library Reference
Indexes articles (currently 190+ journals), reviews (movie, theatre, book), interviews, church and papal documents dealing expressly with the practices of Catholic faith and lifestyle. For records prior to 1981, consult the printed Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. You may also need to consult one of the recent quarterly print issues for the most current citations.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals
1802-1974
Z 1035.A1 C63 1982
Pius Library Reference

CSA Political Science & Government: A Guide to Periodical Literature
2001-2006
Z 7161 .A214 
Pius Library
Continuation of ABC Pol Sci series.
ABC Pol Sci: Advance Bibliography of Contents: Political Science & Government
1969-2000
Z 7161 .A214
Pius Library

The Education Index
Database (Education Full Text) covering 1983-present
Print covering 1929-1984
L11 .E267
Pius Library
Indexes education-related articles from over 770 English-language periodicals and yearbooks published worldwide. Abstracts begin in January 1994 with full text beginning in 1996 for some of the more than 350 journals available full text. All articles of at least one column in length are indexed and cover all educational levels and subject matter fields in education.

ERIC
1966-present
Prior to 2004, indexed and abstracted approximately 980 educational and education-related journals in addition to other materials. Currently indexes and abstracts over 600 journals. In addition, other materials such as technical reports, policy papers, curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports and books are included from 1966 to present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is the principal index for access to educational literature. Includes links to full text of ERIC Documents when available.

French Periodicals Index (Repertoriex)
1986,1989,1991-1995
AI 7 .F7
Pius Library Reference

Historical Abstracts
1964-present
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Includes abstracts of articles and citations to book reviews and dissertations.

Index to Black Periodicals (various titles)
1960-2004
Z 1361 .N39 O4
Pius Reference

JSTOR
This archival journal resource provides access to full-text of over 1000 unique (does NOT count previous titles for same periodical) journal titles (as of June 2009). These titles are contained in 9 collections: Arts & Sciences I through VIII and the Life Sciences Collection. Subjects covered include history, language and literature, general science, ecology, biology, law, education, business, theology, and more.
Due to its archival nature, the last 1 to 7 years of each journal are not available in this resource.

Library Literature & Information Science Index
In print covering 1933-2006
Z666 .C211
Pius Library
Provides indexing and some abstracting for over 400 English and foreign-language library-and-information-science periodicals along with "selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year."

LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts)
1973-present
This bibliographic database provides abstracts of articles from hundreds of periodicals published worldwide, as well as books, technical reports, and dissertations. Subjects covered include child language acquisition, speech and hearing, artificial intelligence, dialectology, bilingualism, and computational and mathematical linguistics.

The Music Index
1949-present
ML 118 .M84
Pius Library Reference

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO): 1802 - 2000
Periodicals Index Online (PIO): 1665-2005
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) complements Periodicals Index Online (PIO) by providing at least partial full text for over 500 of the indexed journals. Periodicals Index Online (PIO) indexes articles in over 4,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 2005. The focus is on 20th century periodicals. However, periodicals in the 20th century that extend back into the 17th, 18th, & 19th centuries are indexed from their earliest volumes. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.

Philosopher's Index
1940-present
Indexes and partially abstracts journal articles (300+ journals), book reviews, essays from books, and monographs in philosophy and related fields.

Project Muse
(Coverage varies by title)
Full-text access to over 500 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and over 120 other not-for-profit presses in the areas of humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

The Rolling Stone Index
1967-1991
ML 1 .R65 1993
Pius Library Reference

Social Sciences Citation Index
Database covering 1990-present.
Print covering (1974/75)-(2002/03)
AI 1 .S6
Pius Library Reference
This database provides author and subject indexing for articles published worldwide in social science journals. It also supports citation indexing, which establishes links between cited articles and the more recent publications in which they are cited. 1990 to present is available in Web of Science.

Sociological Abstracts
1952-present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews from over 1,800 serials, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Journal records added since 1973 include article abstracts. Many records from key sociology journals published since 2002 also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference.

Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International combines Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography to provide indexing for areas in Women's Studies including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Material types included are journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.

Your Librarian

Martha Allen's picture
Martha Allen
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library

Room 202D

314-977-3596

Find it @ SLU

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.