Skip to main content

Book Reviews: Science & Technology

How to find book reviews for both popular and academic books.

Science & Technology Sources

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
October 1983 - present
Includes full text of every article from almost 100 publications back to 1997 in addition to abstracts for articles back to March 1993 and indexing for over 500 publications back to October 1983. Subject coverage includes engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, and new product reviews/announcements.

Biology Digest
QH 301 .B44
1976-present
Most recent year in Pius Library, Reference
Older issues in Locust Street Facility

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
1937 - present
This is a comprehensive index for nursing and allied health literature, indexing articles from 3,329 journals that cover fields such as cardiopulmonary technology, health education, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy and physician's assistant. Other nursing materials indexed include books, dissertations, conference proceedings, professional standards, educational software and audiovisual materials. Full text is available for almost 700 journal titles and 220 books or monographs.

GeoRef
1785-present
Produced by the American Geological Institute. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Indexes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and all relevant Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, in addition to books, maps, reports, and appropriate articles from more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages. Between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added each month.

Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
1980-present
Courtesy of SLU's MOREnet membership. Search across almost 400 health/medical journals, 2,200 general interest publications, 700 health-related videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets, and medically-related Gale Virtual Reference Library reference books.

Health Reference Center Academic
1980-present
This database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals in addition to personal health information resources.

Journals@Ovid Full Text
Indexes and abstracts all Journals@Ovid. View tables of contents and abstracts for each. Full text is available for journals found in three collections plus some individually selected titles: Core Biomedical Collection, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection, and Nursing 1.

Your Librarian

Martha Allen's picture
Martha Allen
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library

Room 202D

314-977-3596

Find it @ SLU

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.