Benowitz, June Melby. Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Ref. BL2525.B45 1998
Burgess, Stanley M. and Gary B. McGee, eds. New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements. Rev. and expanded ed. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2002.
Ref. BR1644.D53 2002
Coverage is international but a significant proportion is devoted to North America.
Cayton, Mary Kupiec and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History. 3 vols. New York: Scribner, 2001. Ref. E169.1.E624 2001
_____. Encyclopedia of American Social History. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1993.
Ref. HN57.E58 1993
The two titles above are not specifically oriented toward religion but contain much relevant material for the study of American religion. Both use the extended “reference essay” format rather than the standard encyclopedia format.
Duffield, Holley Gene, ed. Historical Dictionary of the Shakers. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2000.
Ref. BX7611.D84 2000
Fahlbusch, Erwin et al, eds. The Encyclopedia of Christianity. 5 vols. (in progress) Grand Rapids MI: Eerdmans Publishing Co. and Leiden: Brill, 1999.
Ref. BR95.E8913 1999
English language translation and revision of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon (Reference BR95.E89); coverage is global but with many articles of interest to a North American audience added to the English edition
Hill, Samuel S., ed. Encyclopedia of Religion in the South. 2nd ed. rev. Mercer University Press, 2005.
Ref. BR535.E52 2005
Kostlevy, William C., ed. Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2001.
Ref. BX7990.H6 H55 2001
Krapohl, Robert H. and Charles H. Lippy, eds. The Evangelicals: a historical, thematic, and biographical guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1999.
Ref. BV3773.K73 1999
Kurian, George Thomas and Mark A. Lamport, eds. Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States. 5 vols. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.
Ref. BR515 .E52 2016
Lippy, Charles H. and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience: Studies of Traditions and Movements. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1988.
Ref. BL2525.E53 1988
Not a true encyclopedia but a series of “reference essays.”
McClymond, Michael, ed. Encyclopedia of Religious Revivals in America. 2 vols. Westport, CT: Greenwood Publishing, 2007. Ref. BV3773.E53 2007
McGinn, Bernard, John J. Collins, and Stephen J. Stein, eds. The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism. 3 vols. New York: Continuum, 1998.
Another collection of topical essays; vol. 3, “Apocalypticism in the Modern Period and the Contemporary Age,” has several articles of relevance for American religious history.
Melton, J. Gordon. Encyclopedia of American Religions. 7th ed. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 2003.
_____. Encyclopedia of American Religions: Religious Creeds. 2 vols. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Company, 1988, 1994.
Ref. BT990.E58 1988
_____. Encyclopedic Handbook of Cults in America. Revised and updated edition. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1992.
Melton, J. Gordon, Phillip Charles Lucas, Jon R. Stone. Prime-Time Religion: An Encyclopedia of Religious Broadcasting. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1997.
Ref. BV656.M45 1997
Murphy, Larry G., J. Gordon Melton, and Gary L. Ward. Encyclopedia of African American Religions. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1993.
Ref. BR563.N4E53 1993
Queen II, Edward L., Stephen R. Prothero and Gardiner H. Shattuck, Jr. , eds. The Encyclopedia of American Religious History. Rev. ed. 2 vols. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 2001.
Ref. BL2525.Q44 2001
Reid, Daniel G., ed. Dictionary of Christianity in America. Downers Grove, IL: Intervarsity Press, 1990.
Ref. BR515.D53 1990
Schultz, Jeffrey D., John G. West, Jr., and Iain Maclean, eds. Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999.
Ref. BL2525.E52 1999
Shriver, George H., ed. Dictionary of Heresy Trials in American Christianity. Westport, CT; London: Greenwood Press.
Ref. BR517.D5 1997
Shriver, George H. And Bill J. Leonard, eds. Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States. Westport, CT; London: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Ref. BR515.E53 1997
Swatos, William H., ed. Encyclopedia of Religion and Society. Walnut Creek, London, New Delhi: Altamira Press, 1998.
Ref. BL60.E53 1998
Williamson, William B. An Encyclopedia of Religions in the United States: One Hundred Religious Groups Speak for Themselves. New York: Crossroad, 1992.
Ref. BL2520.E53 1992
Wuthnow, Robert, ed. Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. 2 vols. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1998.
Ref. BL65.P7 E53 1998