Skip to main content

American Church History: Miscellaneous Bibliographies

This guide lists encyclopedia and bibliographic resources for the study of American church history, including both Catholicism and Protestant denominations.

Miscellaneous Bibliographies

Bass, Dorothy C. and Sandra Hughes Boyd. Women in American Religious History: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Sources. Boston: G.K. Hall & Co., 1986.
     BL458.B38 1986

Blumhofer, Edith L. Twentieth-Century Evangelicalism: A Guide to the Sources. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1990.
     BR1644.5 .U6 B48 1990

Brown, Marshall G. and Gordon Stein. Freethought in the United States: A Descriptive Bibliography. Westport, CT; London: Greenwood Press, 1978.
     BL2710.B67 1978

Burr, Nelson R. A Critical Bibliography of Religion in America. 2 vols. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1961.
     BR515.B87 1961

_____. Religion in American Life. New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1971.
     Z7757.U5 B8

Choquette, Diane, comp. New Religious Movements in the United States and Canada: A Critical Assessment and Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1985.
     BL2525.C47 1985

dev. Brunkow, Robert, ed. Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography. Santa Barbara, CA; Oxford, England: ABC-Clio Information Systems, Inc., 1983.
     BL60.R4 1983

Jones, Charles Edwin. Black Holiness: A Guide to the Study of Black Participation in Wesleyan Perfectionist and Glossolalic Pentecostal Movements. Metuchen, NJ; London: American Theological Library Association and Scarecrow Press, 1987.
     BR563.N4 J6 1987

_____. The Charismatic Movement: A Guide to the Study of Neo-Pentecostalism with Emphasis on Anglo-American Sources. 2 vols. Metuchen, N.J.; London: American Theological Library Association; Scarecrow Press, 1995.
     BR1644.5.U6 J664 1995

_____. A Guide to the Study of the Holiness Movement. Metuchen, NJ: The Scarecrow Press, Inc. and The American Theological Library Association, 1974.
     BX7990.H6 J65 1974

_____. A Guide to the Study of the Pentecostal Movement. 2 vols. Metuchen, NJ and London: The Scarecrow Press, Inc. and The American Theological Library Association, 1983.
     BR1644.J6 1983


Lippy, Charles H. Bibliography of Religion in the South. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 1985.
     BR535.L56 1985

Magnuson, Norris A. and William G. Travis. American Evangelicalism: An Annotated Bibliography. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1990.
     BR1642.U5 M34 1990

_____. American Evangelicalism II: First Bibliographical Supplement, 1990-1996. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1997.
     BR1642.U5 M34 1990 Suppl. 1

Menendez, Albert J. Religious Conflict in America: A Bibliography. New York; London: Garland Publishing Co., 1985.
     BR515.M46 1985

Mills, Watson E. Charismatic Religion in Modern Research: A Bibliography. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 1985.
     BR1644.M5 1985

Richmond, Mary L. Shaker Literature: A Bibliography. 2 vols. Hancock, MA: Shaker Community, Inc., 1977.
     BX9771.R53 1977

Roberts, Richard Owen, ed. Revival Literature: An Annotated Bibliography with Biographical and Historical Notices. Wheaton, IL: Richard Owen Roberts, Publishers, 1987.
     BV3790.R63 1987

Stone, Jon R. A Guide to the End of the World: Popular Eschatology in America. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1993.
     BR517.S76 1993

Wilson, John F., ed. Church and State in America: A Bibliographical Guide. New York, Westport, CT, London: Greenwood Press, 1986, 1987. 2 vols.
     BR516.C47 1986

Young, Arthur P. and E. Jens Holley. Religion and the American Experience, 1620-1900: A Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1992.
     Ref. BL2525.Y68 1992

_____. Religion and the American Experience, The Twentieth Century: A Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press,1994.
     Ref. BL2525.Y68 1994

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083