Skip to main content

American Church History: Periodicals

This guide lists encyclopedia and bibliographic resources for the study of American church history, including both Catholicism and Protestant denominations.

Periodicals

In addition to the standard theological indexes (ATLA Religion Database, Catholic Periodical & Literature Index, Religious & Theological Abstracts), the following sources contain information on periodicals relevant to research in American religious history.

Albaugh, Gaylord P. History and Annotated Bibliography of American Religious Periodicals and Newspapers Established from 1730 through 1830 With Library Locations and Microform Sources. 2 vols. Worcester: American Antiquarian Society, 1994.
     Ref. PN4888.R4A43 1994

America: History and Life.
    The main index for American history journals; indexes books and dissertations also, accessible to SLU faculty, staff, and students from the Pius Library web page.

Christian Periodical Index. 1956- .
      An index of fundamentalist or conservative Protestant magazines and journals; valuable for coverage of this type material nowhere else indexed.
      BX801 .C574 

Fackler, P. Mark and Charles H. Lippy, eds. Popular Religious Magazines of the United States. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1995.
     Ref. PN4888.R4P67 1995

Lippy, Charles H., ed. Religous Periodicals of the United States: Academic and Scholarly Journals. New York, Westport, CT, London: Greenwood Press, 1986.
      PN4888.R4R4 1986

Theology Article Databases

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083