Bunson, Matthew E.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. New York: Facts On File,
Ref. D114.B86 1995
Mostly brief entries primarily useful (to the advanced student) for quick verification of a fact, etc. Includes a "Chronology of Medieval History, 410-1492", three appendices listing "Rulers of Medieval Europe," "Dynasties of Medieval Islam," and "Rulers of Medieval Islam," a "Glossary of Medieval Terms," and a suggested reading list.
Dictionary of Medieval Civilization. New York: Macmillan
Publishing Company, 1984.
Like the previous entry, another ready reference source with brief entries, definitions of terms, etc.
Sachwoerterbuch der Mediaevistik. Stuttgart: Alfred Kroner
Much work on the medieval period is, of course, in German; this title may be especially useful when consulting other German reference works or reading German monographs and articles.
Fauvier, Jean. Dictionnaire
de la France Medievale. Librairie Artheme Fayard, 1993.
Ref. DC60.6 F38 1993
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization.
London: Octopus Books, Ltd.; New York: Mayflower Books Inc., 1980.
Intended for the general reader, probably of greatest potential use as a source of illustrations.
Le Goff, Jacques
and Jean-Claude Schmitt, eds. Dictionnaire Raisonne de L'Occiedent
Medieval. Librairie Artheme Fayard, 1999.
Ref. CB351.L414 1999
A collection of 82 essays on a variety of topics of interests to medievalists; church historians will find useful essays on such topics as "Bible," "Cathedrale," "Clercs et Laics," "Eglise et Papaute," "Heresie," etc.
Loyn, H. R., ed.
The Middle Ages: A Concise Encyclopedia. London: Thames
and Hudson, 1989.
Useful as a ready reference tool and for the 250 illustrations.
ed. Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia. New York and
London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1993.
Ref. DL30.M43 1993
Similar in treatment to the Dictionary of the Middle Ages, but more detailed for the geographical region covered (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden) and more up to date bibliographically. Similar volumes are now available for Medieval France (Ref. DC33.2.M44 1995), Medieval England (Ref. DA129.M43 1998), Medieval Italy (DG443 .M43 2004), Medieval Germany (Ref. DD126.M43 2001), Medieval Iberia (Ref. DP99.M33 2003), and Medieval Jewish Civilization (Ref. DS124.M386 2003).