Skip to main content

Medieval Church History: Full Text Databases

This guide identifies resources for the study of medieval church history found in Pius XII Memorial Library. The guide is intended for use by both beginning or advanced graduate students and faculty.

Full Text Databases

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature.
     Contains Celtic-Latin literature (i.e., from Ireland, Wales, Brittany, Cornwall, and Scotland) of the patristic and medieval periods (ca. 400-1200 A.D.). Please click "Enter Databases" button on the Brepols Web site, then the "Go" button to the right of the database name to begin searching.

Corpus Thomisticum.
      Complete texts of the writings of Thomas Aquinas.

Library of Latin Texts A.

Library of Latin Texts B.

Series A contains Latin works from Antiquity, the Church fathers, and the medieval and modern periods.  Series B contains a more diverse range of genres including chronicles, medieval saints’ lives, travel narratives, legal texts, theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica.
      Electronic version of part of the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, a series of critical editions of medieval texts. . For information on the printed series, see Paetow, Literature of Medieval History, p. 128 (#978) and the other sources of information there indicated; Crosby et al, Medieval Studies, p. 180. Information is also available at the MGH website at www.mgh.de/.

Patrologia Latina Database.
      Contains the complete text (including apparatus) of Migne's Patrologia Cursus Completus: Series Prima See Berlioz, L'atelier du medieviste: identifier sources et citations, chapter 18, pp. 279-294 for an introduction to the printed set (especially useful for its description of the indexes found in many of the individual volumes and the listing of the 235 (!) indexes found in the supplemental volumes 218-221).

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae.
      Full text database of classical, patristic and medieval Greek literature.

 

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083