Skip to main content

Patristics/Early Church History: General Early Church

This guide identifies resources on patristics and early church history found in Pius XII Memorial Library. The guide is intended for use by both beginning or advanced graduate students and faculty.

General Theological Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Baudrillart, Alfred, Albert Vogt and Urbain Rouziès, founding eds.  Dictionnaire d'Histoire et de Géographie Ecclésiastiques.  Paris:  Letouzey et Ane, 1912-. Ref. BR95.B3

Following the appearance of vol. 31 (covering Le Couëdic - Licayrac), Brepols took over the publication of this encyclopedia and adopted a new strategy.  Henceforth, future fascicles, instead of adhering to an alphabetical sequence may include articles revised from the earlier A - L volumes, new articles between A - L not previously included, and articles from M - Z. See Kepple, Reference Works, p. 132 (BA13); Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p.163f.

Bautz, Friedrich Wilhelm Bautz and Traugott Bautz, eds.  Biographisch-Bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon.  Verlag Traugott Bautz, 1975- . Ref. BR1700.2.B38 1975

"The ultimate who's who of Christianity assembles overwhelming bibliographies in an up-to-date format."  (Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p. 80).  Begun in 1975, the original alphabetical series of articles was completed with vol. 14, supplemental volumes with articles on persons not covered in the original series have continued to appear. Each supplemental volume covers the entire alphabet so it can be difficult finding articles on particular individuals. Access to entries in the supplemental vols. is facilitated by the separate index shelved with the set. This is also available online, although not all entries are available yet.  After clicking on the link, mouse over "Kirchen-Lexikon Online," then click on "Zugang für Bibliotheken" to search or browse the database.

Cabrol, Fernand and Henri Leclercq, eds.  Dictionnaire d'Archéologie Chrétienne et de Liturgie.  30 vols. in 15. Paris:  Letouzey et Ane, 1907-1953.  Ref. BR95.C2

The most comprehensive, although dated, reference source for early Christian archeology.  Covers liturgy, institutions, morals, customs, social and private life, etc.  See Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p. 163.

Fahlbusch, Erwin et al, eds.  The Encyclopedia of Christianity.  5 vols.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans, 1999-2008.
     Ref. BR95.E8913 1999

English language revision and adaptation of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon:  Internationale theologische Enzyklopadie Ref. BR95.E89 1985, see Johnston, Recent Reference Books, pp.85-6. 

Hauck, Albert, ed.  Realencyklopädie für Protestantische Theologie und Kirche.  3rd. ed.  24 vols.  Leipzig:  J.C. Hinrichs, 1896-1913.  BR95.R424 1896

"Die patristischen Artikel aus der RE sind in der Regel noch heute lesenswert.  Vielfach werden Personen weitaus ausführlicher dargestellt als in späteren Lexika.  Besonders bei Personen, die nicht im Zentrum des Interesses der Forschung stehen, lohnt ein Blick in die RE...."  Uta Heil, "Die Patristik in der Realencyklopaedie fuer protestantische Theologie und Kirche:  Eine Blütenlese," Zeitschrift für antikes Christentum 15 (2011), pp. 99-123, quote from p. 123.

Kasper, Walter et al, eds.  Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche.  3rd ed. 11 vols. Freiburg; Basel; Rome;  Vienna:  Herder, 1993-2001.
     Ref. BR95.L48 1993

The most recent edition of a standard German Catholic encyclopedia. The first (BR95.B7 1930) and second (BR95.L48) are also available in Lewis Annex. For an enlightening comparison of the three editions (and a useful case study of how theological encyclopedias reflect their own theological milieu), see the article by Roland Kany, "A Century of Catholic Theology Reflected in Three Editions of the Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche," Journal of Religious & Theological Information 7 (2005), pp. 9-27. See also Johnston, Recent Reference Books, pp. 158-159.

Krause, Gerhard and Gerhard Muller, eds.  Theologische Realenzyklopädie.  36 vols. Berlin and New York:  Walter de Gruyter, 1977- .  Ref. BR95.T47

See Kepple, Reference Works, p. 13 (C12); Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p. 74.  Useful for its lengthy articles on persons and themes and excellent bibliographies.

Livingstone, E.A., ed.  Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. revised. Oxford:  Oxford University Press, 2005. Ref. BR95.O8 2005

A new edition of the standard one-volume reference work for church history.  For information on the second edition, see Kepple, Reference Works, p. 131 (BA8);  Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p. 72f.

Vacant, A, E. Mangenot and E. Amann, eds.  Dictionnaire de Théologie Catholique.  15 vols. in 30. Paris:  Letouzey et Ane, 1930-1950.  Ref. BX841.D68

See Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p. 163.

Viller, M., founding ed. et alDictionnaire de Spiritualité Ascétique et Mystique, Doctrine et Histoire.  17 vols. Paris:  Beauchesne, 1937-1995. Ref. BX841.D67

See Johnston, Recent Reference Books, p. 132f.

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083