Skip to main content

Philosophy: Specialized Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

The guide is designed for use primarily by Philosophy majors, graduate students and faculty.

Specialized Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

These works cover particular topics or fields within philosophy.

Ayer, A. J. And Jane O'Grady.  A Dictionary of Philosophical Quotations.  Oxford: Blackwell, 1994.
     Ref. B 21 .D54 1994

Becker, Lawrence C., ed.  Encyclopedia of Ethics.  2nd ed.  New York; London:  Garland Publishing, Inc., 2001.  3 vols.
     Ref. BJ 63 .E45 2001

Burkhardt, Hans, and Barry Smith.  Handbook of Metaphysics and Ontology.  Munich:  Philosophia Verlag, 1991. 2 vols. 
     Ref. BD 111 .H225 1991

Brian and Indira Mahalingam, eds. Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy.   London: Routledge, 1997.
     B 121 .C66 1997

Dancy, Jonathan and Ernest Sosa.  A Companion to epistemology.  Oxford: Blackwell, 1993.
     Ref.  BD 161 .C637

Fischer-Schreiber, Ingrid et al.  Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion.  Boston:  Shambhala, 1989.
    Ref. BL 1005 .L4813 1989

Fitzgerald, Allan D. et al.  Augustine through the Ages:  An Encyclopedia.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans, 1999.
     Ref. B 655.Z69 A84 1999

Goulet, Richard.  Dictionnaire des philosophes antiques. Paris: Éditions du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique,1989 --.
     Ref. B 172 .D53 1989

Guttenplan, Samuel, ed. A companion to the philosophy of mind.  Oxford: Blackwell,  1994.
     BD 418.3 .C62 1994

Hackett, Jeremiah, ed.   Medieval Philosophers in Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 115. Detroit : Gale Research, 1992.
     Ref. B 721 .M45 1992

Post, Stephen G., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of Bioethics.  5 vols.   3rd ed.  New York: Macmillan Pub. Co., 2004.
     Ref. QH 332 .E52 2004

Pyle, Andrew, ed.  The Dictionary of Seventeenth-Century British Philosophers.  2 vols. Bristol:  Thoemmes, 2000. 
     Ref. B 1131 .D53 2000

Roth, John K., ed.  Ethics: Ready Reference.  Rev. ed.  Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 2005.  3 vols.
     Ref. BJ 63 .E54 2005

Wells, Donald A., ed.  An Encyclopedia of War and Ethics.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
     Ref. B 105.W3 E53 1996

Yolton, John et al, eds.  The Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century British Philosophers.  2 vols. Bristol: Thoemmes, 2000. 
    Ref. B 1301 .D527 2000

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083