Skip to main content

Philosophy: Indexes

The guide is designed for use primarily by Philosophy majors, graduate students and faculty.

Indexes

The Philosopher's Index to articles in philosophy journals is available electronically through EBSCOhost. Provides indexing and abstracts of "scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages."--Database information page.

Off-campus access to Philosopher's Index is also available to current SLU students, faculty, and staff either with a SLU PPP Internet access account or, for those who use a personal Internet Service Provider such as Earthlink, AOL, etc. and have a SLU VMS e-mail Username and Password, by means of SLU Proxy Access. 

For guidance about the range and contents of particular philosophy journals, see:

Ruben, Douglas H., comp.  Philosophy Journals and Serials:  An Analytical Guide.  Westport, CT:  Greenwood Press, 1985.
     B 72.R73 1985

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083