From the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine to help physicians and allied heath professionals save time and stay informed by providing brief, clearly written, clinically focused perspectives on the medical developments that affect practice. Some content requires a subscription for access.
2 Minute Medicine® was created by Marc D. Succi, MD, a physician at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital, to fill the need for professional curation and accurate reporting of the medical literature milieu. Originally consisting of short study summaries, the organization was built and scaled after realizing that the need for objective, quality-rated and concise medical reporting spanned far beyond the quad.
The experts at PracticeUpdate sort through volumes of healthcare content, hand-selecting information that is most relevant to healthcare professionals within their specialties. Curated by physician editors and world-renowned specialists, PracticeUpdate provides professionals with easy access information they value most in patient care.
FIND IT @ SLU
This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. If an article isn't available online, you may request it via: ILLiad: Digital Document Delivery.
Stanford Unversity copyright resource. The content for the Copyright and Fair Use Overview section is from NOLO (http://www.nolo.com/about.html), with much of it taken from the book Getting Permission (October 2007) by Richard Stim.
Search for Articles
The library recommends the following databases for searching the biomedical literature.
" ... ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH funded research. It requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication. ... the Policy requires that these papers are accessible to the public on PubMed Central no later than 12 months after publication."
These journals make the final published version of all NIH-funded articles available in PubMed Central (PMC) no later than 12 months after publication without author involvement. The start date shown for each journal is the earliest publication date that meets this requirement.
Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences is a searchable database of urls for the author information pages of hundreds of journals. A very useful tool developed at the Mulford Health Sciences Library of the University of Toledo.
RSS, what is it?
It's a convenient way to track multiple sources of information (ie. feeds, like tables of contents for journals) from a central location (a feed reader, like your browser).