Skip to main content

Primatology: Get Started

Research Guides -- Overviews of the Research Process

Setchell, J.M., & Curtis, D.J. (Eds.). (2003). Field and laboratory methods in primatology: A practical guide. New York: Cambridge University Press.
     QL 737 .P9 F53 2003

Background Information -- Including Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

IMPORTANT! -- Books labeled "Ref" are shelved on "Reference" sections of shelving on the upstairs floors where the books' call numbers are located (and on Level 4 of Lewis Annex).  For example, books labeled "Ref. E" and "Ref. HV" are shelved on Level 2 because that's where the other items with those call numbers are shelved.  The Reference shelving sections are located at the beginning of the call number sequence on each floor.  While these books have been relocated to the stacks, they remain "library use only."  See the Location Guide for details.
 
*******************************************************************************************************************************************
BRAND NEW REFERENCE SOURCE!

Fuentes, A. (2017). The International encyclopedia of primatology. Chichester, UK; Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons.
     ONLINE

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Barrows, E.M. (2011). Animal behavior desk reference: A dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution (3rd ed.). Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
     Ref. QL 750.3 .B37 2011
 

Beacham, W., & Beetz, K.H. (Eds.). (1998-2001). Beacham’s guide to international endangered species (Vols. 1-3). Osprey, FL: Beacham Publishing.
     QL 82 .B435 1998 Vols. 1-3

Breed, M.D., & Moore, J. (Eds.). (2010). Encyclopedia of animal behavior. Amsterdam: Elsevier B.V..
    
ONLINE (ScienceDirect)

Caldecott, J., & Miles, L. (Eds.). (2005). World atlas of great apes and their conservation. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.
     Ref. QL 737 .P96 W67 2005

Campbell, C.J., Fuentes, A., MacKinnon, K.C., Stumpf, R.M., & Bearder, S.K. (Eds.). (2011).  Primates in perspective (2nd ed.). New York: Oxford University Press.
     QL 737 .P9 P679 2011

Crawford, M. (1999). Habitats and ecosystems: An encyclopedia of endangered America. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
     QH 76 .C73 1999

Emmons, L. (1997). Neotropical rainforest mammals: A field guide (2nd ed.). Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
     QL 723 .A1 E44 1997

Grzimek, B. (2003-2004). Grzimek’s animal life encyclopedia (2nd ed., Vols. 1-17). Detroit: Gale.
     ONLINE (GVRL) + QL 7 .G7813 2003 Vols. 1-17

Grzimek, B. (1989). Grzimek’s encyclopedia of mammals (Vols. 1-5). New York: McGraw-Hill.
     QL 701 .G7913 1990 Vols. 1-5

Hutchins, M. (2011). Grzimek’s animal life encyclopedia: Evolution. Detroit: Gale Cengage Learning.
     ONLINE (GVRL)

Jukofsky, D. (2001). Encyclopedia of rainforests. Westport, CT: Oryx.
     QH 86 .J85 2001

MacLeod, N. (2013). Grzimek’s animal life encyclopedia: Extinction. Detroit: Gale Cengage Learning.
     ONLINE (GVRL)

Nowak, R.M. (1999). Walker’s mammals of the world (6th ed.). Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.
     QL 703 .N68 1999 Vols. 1-2

Parker, S.P. (Ed.). (1982). Synopsis and classification of living organisms (Vols. 1-2). New York: McGraw-Hill.
     Ref. QH 83 .S89 Vols.1-2

Redmond, I. (2008). The primate family tree: The amazing diversity of our closest relatives. Buffalo, NY: Firefly Books.
     Oversize QL 737 .P9 R33 2008
 
Rowe, N. (1996). The pictorial guide to the living primates. East Hampton, NY: Pogonias Press.
     Ref. QL 737 .P9 R675 1996