Research Guides: Clinical Resources for Physical Therapy and Athletic Training: Databases

Databases

These databases can help you find current journal articles to answer clinical questions.

Mouseover the links for more information.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains some PT and AT journal citations not found in PubMed

Clinical Queries (PubMed)
A PubMed feature to filter citations to a specific clinical study category and scope

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists and other health care professionals.
OT Seeker (Occupational Therapy) This link opens in a new window
Free database with abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new window
Free database of abstracts for randomised trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines related to physiotherapy
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Premier database for sports medicine literature
TRIP Medical Database (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window
Free search engine to find clinical research evidence. You can sign up for a personal login and then display a link to SLU full text journals.

Where is my article?

provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available through SLU Libraries.

If an article isn't available online, you may request it using Step 3: Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Request. There is no charge to students for this service.

Free Online Resources

DailyMed
Up-to-date FDA labels (package inserts) for many marketed drugs

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
A goldmine of reliable health information from the National Library of Medicine. It contains health topics, drug and supplements information, a medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, surgery videos, interactive health tutorials, and health information in over 40 languages.