Skip to main content

Ethnography: Get Started

Ethnography vs. Ethnology

Ethnography -- The in-depth study of a society or cultural group

Ethnology -- A comparative approach to cultural analysis

Despite the distinction between these two terms, they often are used interchangeably, with "ethnography" being most common.  That said, Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), the subject terms used to search the SLU Libraries Catalog, are a notable exception.  The LCSH used in the Catalog is "ethnology."  Here is the cross-reference information provided in the Catalog:

LCSH-Ethnology

For more information on searching the SLU Libraries Catalog for ethnographies, see the Find Books section of this guide.

Research Guides -- Overviews of the Research Process

Bernard, H. R. (2006). Research methods in anthropology: Qualitative and quantitative approaches (4th ed.).  Lanham, MD: AltaMira Press.
     GN 345 .B36 2006

Background Information about Ethnography

Here are some articles about Ethnography published in ONLINE encyclopedias owned by the SLU Libraries.

Comaroff, J. (2005). Ethnography. In M. C. Horowitz (Ed.), New dictionary of the history of ideas (Vol. 2, pp. 725-728). Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Ethnography. (2008). In W. A. Darity, Jr. (Ed.), International encyclopedia of the social sciences (2nd ed., Vol. 3, pp.14-17). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

McCarthy, P. (2006). Objectivity in Ethnography. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), Encyclopedia of anthropology (Vol. 2, p. 850). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Research, Ethnographic. (2008). In W. A. Darity, Jr. (Ed.), International encyclopedia of the social sciences (2nd ed., Vol. 7, pp. 192-194). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Robinson-Caskie, E. E. (2006). Ethnography. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), Encyclopedia of anthropology (Vol. 2, pp. 853-854). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Sanjek, R. (2010). Ethnography. In A. Barnard & J. Spencer (Eds.), Routledge encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology (2nd ed., pp. 243-249). London; New York: Routledge. Retrieved from ebrary.  [NOTE: This book can be used by only one person at a time, so please be sure to release the book when you are finished by clicking the "Release This Title" button.]

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

 
Levinson, D. R. (Ed.). (1991-1996). Encyclopedia of world cultures (Vols. 1-10.). Boston: G. K. Hall & Co.
     ONLINE via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Ember, M., Ember, C. R., & Skoggard, I. (Eds.). (2002).  Encyclopedia of world cultures: Supplement. New York: Gale Group/Thomson Learning
     ONLINE via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
       

 

This ten-volume set and supplement are based on the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), important cross-cultural ethnographic studies of peoples and cultures worldwide.  The entries are brief but textremely helpful.  Typically they include variant names (i.e., ethnonyms) for a group, as well as information about division of labor, kinship, marriage and family, social organization, and religious beliefs.  All entries include a bibliography which can be counted upon to cite the major published ethnographic studies about that group.