Skip to main content

Ethnography: Find Articles

Use the Right Tool

Databases will help you find specific articles on a topic. Search them by subject heading, if possible, rather than by keyword.

E-Journal Portal will tell you if a particular journal is available online via the SLU Libraries.

Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Title Search in the SLU Libraries Catalog will tell you if the SLU Libraries have a journal online, in print, or on microfilm.  It also will indicate whether a bound volume of a journal has been relocated to the Locust Street Library Facility (LSLF). 

Database Selection

Many commercial indexes to the contents of periodicals and other publication types (i.e., databases) are available at Pius Library and via the library's Web site. The coverage of some indexes is general and interdisciplinary; still other indexes have a subject-specific scope. Virtually all indexing services include abstracts, or summaries, of the indexed publications. Many of these resources are available in electronic format; some contain the full-text or even the full-image of the source material itself.  For an overview on database selection, see the online tutorial Finding Articles on a Topic.  For a list of databases provided by the SLU Libraries that will help you find ethnographic information on specific cultural groups, click on the Databases tab of this guide.

Note: Off-campus access to Web-based databases is restricted to current Saint Louis University (SLU) students, faculty, and staff.  See Off-Campus Access to Subscription Electronic Resources on the SLU Libraries Web site's Off-Campus Access page for access instructions.

Find It @ SLU

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also  helps you search for a print version of the article via the "Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Title Search" function in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online, in print, or on microfilm, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan's ILLiad service.

Articles published in journal volumes housed in the Locust Street Library Facility (LSLF) also can be requested via ILLiad.  In most cases, articles will be delivered electronically within 24 hours of your request, Monday-Friday.  You will receive notification at your SLU email address when requested articles are ready for download.