Skip to main content

Forensic Science: Find Articles

Use the Right Tool

Databases will help you find articles on a topic. Search them by subject heading, if possible, rather than by keyword.

E-Journal Portal will tell you if a particular journal is available online via the SLU Libraries.

SLU Libraries Catalog Journal Search will tell you if the SLU Libraries have a journal online, in print, or on microfilm.  It also will indicate whether a bound volume of a journal has been relocated to the Locust Street Library Facility (LSLF). 

Database Selection

Many commercial indexes to the contents of periodicals and other publication types (i.e., databases) are available at Pius Library and via the SLU Libraries website. The coverage of some indexes is general and interdisciplinary; still other indexes have a subject-specific scope. Virtually all indexing services include abstracts, or summaries, of the indexed publications. Many of these resources are available in electronic format; some contain the full-text or even the full-image of the source material itself. 

Find it @ SLU

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also  helps you search for a print version of the article via the Journal search function in the SLU Libraries Catalog.

Articles published in journal volumes housed in the Locust Street Library Facility (LSLF) also can be requested via ILLiad.  In most cases, articles will be delivered electronically within 24 hours of your request, Monday-Friday.  You will receive notification via email when requested articles are ready for download.

Forensic Science Journals

It is typically wise to conduct a subject search in a database like those listed on the Databases page of this guide, because these resources index the contents of numerous publications, often from diverse subject fields.  This tends to be a much more efficient and effective research strategy than simply looking through the contents of a particular journal.  However, if you know that a specific journal routinely publishes articles on topics of interest to you, limiting your search to that journal may still yield some good sources (just not as many as you may have found through a database search).

The following journals provided by the SLU Libraries focus on forensic science:

Other important journals:

  • American Journal of Forensic Medicine and Pathology (online from 1996-date)
  • Forensic Science International (online from 2007-date)
  • Forensic Science International: Genetics (online from 2007-date)
  • Forensic Science, Medicine, and Pathology (online from 1997-date)
  • Forensic Toxicology (online from 2006-date)
  • Journal of Forensic and Legal Medicine (online from 2007-date)
  • Journal of Forensic Dental Sciences (online from 2010-date)
  • Journal of Forensic Identification (print format at Pius from 2002-date; HV 8073 .I3)
  • Journal of Forensic Nursing (online from 2005-date)

Use the E-Journal Portal to link to and search the contents of the online titles listed here.

·