Skip to main content

Forensic Science: Databases

Identify Periodical Articles Using SLU Library Databases

These databases may help you find information on famous crimes and serial killers:

 


  

Academic Search Complete – Multidisciplinary; indexing and abstracting for 13,200+ publications, including 12,500+ periodicals (7,300+ are peer-reviewed) with over 8,500 in full text.

SEARCH TIPS

Keyword Search (It’s ok to put quotes around names or phrases in most library databases.)

  

 

 

Subject Search (Uses the database’s official subject vocabulary, i.e., Subject Terms.)

 

 

 

People Search (Last name first!)

 

 



LexisNexis Academic – Provides online access to full-text of news sources (especially newspapers), current and historical court cases, etc.  

SEARCH TIPS

NOTES: (1) On the left-hand navigation bar, click on the News button; (2) Choose Newspapers & Wires; (3) Use the connector w/2 to find the subject’s name, whether or not it is printed with a middle name; (4) You may want to AND the subject’s name to another word to help focus the search; (5) Restrict your search to Headline & Lead (the first paragraph) to better focus on your topic; and (6) Select All available dates

 When the results display, click on the blue linked part of the citation to view the article.



These newspapers are available as full-image databases for the time periods indicated:

o   New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1851-2011)

o   The Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1849-1991)

o   The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) 



Other potentially useful databases:

      o   Criminal Justice Abstracts (1910-date) – Main criminal justice database

o   Medline (1946-date) – Major health and medical database

o    NCJRS <http://www.ncjrs.gov/App/AbstractDB/AbstractDBSearch.aspx> – FREE database from the US Dept of Justice, National Criminal Justice Reference Service -- No direct links to SLU library resources; you’ll need to search the sources manually in the SLU Libraries Catalog or the E-Journal Portal

o   PsycINFO (1967-date) – Main psychology database

o   Sociological Abstracts (1952-date) – Main sociology database