IMPORTANT! -- Books labeled "Ref" are located on "Reference" sections of shelving on the upstairs floors where the books' call numbers are located. For example, books labeled "Ref. E" and "Ref. HV" are shelved on Level 2 because that's where the other items with those call numbers are shelved. The Reference shelving sections are located at the beginning of the call number sequence on each floor. While these books have been relocated to the stacks, they remain "library use only."
TIP: Online sources can be searched through the database "Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)." However, conducting a title search in the SLU Libraries Catalog is a more direct approach.
American Villains (Vols. 1-2). (2008). Pasadena, CA: Salem.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 6785 .A44 2008 Vols. 1-2
Bell, S. (2004). Encyclopedia of forensic science. New York: Facts on File.
Ref. HV 8073 .B425 2003
Bell, S. (2004). The Facts on File dictionary of forensic science. New York: Facts on File.
Ref. HV 8073 .B426 2004
Brenner, J.C. (2004). Forensic science: An illustrated dictionary. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
Ref. HV 8073 .B677 2004
Conklin, B.G. (2002). Encyclopedia of forensic science: A compendium of detective fact and fiction. Westport, CT: Oryx Press.
Ref. HV 8073 .C595 2002
Gottesman, R. (1999). Violence in America: An encyclopedia (Vols. 1-3). New York: Scribner’s.
Ref. HN 90 .V5 V5474 1999 Vols. 1-3
Hickey, E. (Ed.). (2003). Encyclopedia of murder & violent crime. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 6515 .E5323 2003
Katz, H. (2010). Cold cases: Famous unsolved mysteries, crimes, and disappearances in America. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood.
Lerner, K.L., & Lerner, B.W. (Eds.). (2006). World of forensic science (Vols. 1-2). Detroit: Thomson Gale.
Levinson, D. (Ed.). (2002). Encyclopedia of crime and punishment (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 6017 .E524 2002 Vols. 1-4
Nash, J.R. (Ed.). (1989). Encyclopedia of world crime: Criminal justice, criminology, and law enforcement (Vols. 1-8). Wilmette, IL: CrimeBooks.
Ref. HV 6017 .E54 1989 Vols. 1-8 [includes updates]
Newton, M. (2006). The encyclopedia of serial killers (2nd ed.). New York: Facts on File.
Ref. HV 6245 .N49 2006
Palmer, L.J. (2004). Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States criminal justice system. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co.
Ref. RA 1057.55 .P34 2004
Siegal, J.A., & Saukko, P.J. (Eds.). (2013). Encyclopedia of forensic sciences (2nd. ed., Vols. 1-4). London; Waltham, MA: Elsevier/Academic Press.
Sifakis, C. (2001). The encyclopedia of American crime (2nd ed., Vols. 1-2). New York: Facts on File.
Ref. HV 6789 .S54 2001 Vols. 1-2
Tilstone, W.J., Savage, K.A., & Clark, L.A. (2006). Forensic science: An encyclopedia of history, methods, and techniques. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 8073 .T55 2006
Viani, K. (Ed.). (2013). The big book of celebrity autopsies. New York: Skyhorse Publishing.
RA 1063 .B54 2013