Skip to main content

Design for "X": Databases & Catalog

Non-technical constraints on design and engineering

Library Catalog

The Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog provides access to books and more. Searching can be expanded to include the MOBIUS consortium which includes most of the academic libraries in Missouri.

For instance, you can search by title --Fundamentals of aircraft and airship design and get the book's call number TL671.2 .N5 2010  v.1

Databases

ABI/INFORM
Indexes and abstracts over 2,500 journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus. Some full text is available for over 2000 of the publications. Examples of areas covered are finance, economics, government,  human resources, labor relations, marketing, public administration, real estate, etc.

Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text  
Subject coverage includes engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology.  Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, and new product reviews/announcements. Includes full text of every article from almost 100 publications back to 1997 in addition to abstracts for articles back to March 1993 and indexing for approximately 480 publications back to October 1983.

AccessScience  
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. Includes full text of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN)  
Includes the electronic editions of several McGraw-Hill aviation newsletters.  There is a searchable archive covering two years.

Compendex 
Engineering Village.   The premier interdisciplinary engineering database in the world, providing abstracts and full bibliographic citations from worldwide engineering and technical literature that encompasses all engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science, and management.  The entries are drawn from more than 2,600 published journals, conference proceedings and individual conference papers, technical reports, monographs, and other materials.  Includes an online thesaurus.

Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering
Topics covered include mechanics, propulsion, guidance and control, electronics and instrumentation, communications, computer science, systems engineering, material science, fabrication and manufacturing, and physics.  In addition, environmental science, noise and emissions are addressed in view of their growing importance to the aviation industry. This online edition of the work features extensive cross-referencing and search functionality, and will be updated on a regular basis to keep abreast of advances in the field.

ENGnetBASE 
CRC Press. 1,600 titles covering the areas of civil, mechanical, electrical, and aerospace engineering along with telecommunications.

Scitopia.org 
The federated vertical search portal was created through the imagination and collaboration of 21 leading science and technology societies.

Scopus  
This is one of the largest abstract and citation databases. It indexes/abstracts over 16,500 titles from over 4,000 international publishers. Content includes peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series, and conference papers. This database is particularly strong in science, engineering, technology, and medicine.

Web of Science 
Includes thousands of research journals from hundreds of disciplines.  Do a Cited Reference search by Cited Author, Cited Journal Title, or Cited Year or do a General Search by Author, Journal Title, or Address such as institution name, city, country, or even zip code.  The Web of Science consists of Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®.

WorldCat   
This database includes all types of library materials cataloged by libraries that contribute their records (currently 1,433,995,715 items) to OCLC, the U.S. national database.  Use to search for books, recordings, etc.  This index will not locate journal articles.

Your Librarian

Megan Toups's picture
Megan Toups
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library
Room 202I

Credits

Created and maintained by John Montre, Parks College Liaison Librarian.