Skip to main content

History of Psychology: Contextual Perspective

Contextual Perspective

Borchert, D. M. (Ed.). (2006). The encyclopedia of philosophy (2nd ed., Vols. 1-10). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA.
[Ref. B 51 .E53 2006]
New edition of standard philosophical reference work. See also: Craig, E. (Ed.). (1998). Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Vols. 1-10). London and New York: Routledge [Ref. B 51 .R68 1998].
Note: The Routledge Encyclopedia also is available online to current SLU students, faculty, and staff via the Library Catalog and the Pius Databases page.

Cayton, M. K., Gorn, E. J., & Williams, P.W. (Eds.). (1993). Encyclopedia of American social history (Vols. 1-3). New York: Scribner's.
[Ref. HN 57 .E58 1993]

Cayton, M. K., & Williams, P.W. (Eds.). (2001). Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history (Vols. 1-3). New York: Scribner's.
[Ref. E 169.1 .E624 2001]

Finkelman, P. (Ed.) (2001). Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth century (Vols. 1-3). New York: Scribner's.
[Ref. E 169.1 .E626 2001]

Stearns, P. N. (Ed.). (2001). Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000 (Vols. 1-6). Detroit: Gale.
[Ref. HN 373 .E63 2001 and Online via GVRL]

Four (above) excellent collections of wide-ranging essays dealing with diverse aspects of the development of American and European society. Discussions include overviews of periods, processes, and topics. Psychology and related subjects are addressed and there is much of interest that helps place psychology and its development in broader context.

Cardón, L. A. (2005). Popular psychology: An encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
[Ref. BF 31 .C715 2005]
Explores aspects of popular psychology and the science of psychology in an attempt "to counteract the tide of misinformation about the field..."

Horowitz, M. C. (Ed.). (2005). New dictionary of the history of ideas (Vols. 1-6). New York: Scribner's.
[Ref. CB 9 .N49 2005 and Online via GVRL]
This edition updates the original 1974 edition "to include 20th century ideas and non-Western thought." Topics addressed include "Behaviorism," "Consciousness," "Mind," "Psychoanalysis," and "Psychology and Psychiatry." See also the original edition: Wiener, P. P. (Ed.). (1973). Dictionary of the history of ideas: Studies of selected pivotal ideas (Vols. 1-5). New York: Scribner's [CB 5 .D52]. It includes essays on "Psychological Ideas in Antiquity," "Psychological Schools in European Thought," and "Psychological Theories in American Thought."