Skip to main content

History of Psychology: Commercial Indexes

Commercial Indexes to the Contents of Periodicals and Other Publications

Note: Remote access to Web-based databases, indicated below by the notation [Web], is restricted to current Saint Louis University (SLU) students, faculty, and staff. See Off-Campus Access to Subscription-Based Electronic Resources on the Pius Library Web site's Electronic Access page (libraries.slu.edu/libinfo/offcamp.html) for access instructions.

19th Century Masterfile. Sterling, VA: Paratext, LLC.
Formerly Poole's Plus. The Series I section is a cumulation of Multi-Title Periodical Indices covering nearly all periodicals of the late eighteenth through early twentieth century. Its chief components are the Psychological Index (1894-1905) as well as Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), edited by W.F. Poole; Index to Periodicals (1890-1902), edited by W.T. Stead; An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion 1890-1899, edited by E. C. Richardson; Catalogue of Scientific Papers, Series I-IV 1800-1900, from the Royal Society (Great Britain); and Index to Legal Periodical Literature, (1786-1922), edited by Jones and Chipman. [Web]

America: History and Life. (1964- ). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Updated three times per year. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Includes abstracts of articles and citations to book reviews and dissertations. [Web]

Historical Abstracts. (1964- ). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Updated three times per year. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Includes abstracts of articles and citations to book reviews and dissertations. [Web]

International Index to Periodicals. (1907-1955). New York: Wilson.
[East Index Shelves Ref. AI 3 .R49]
First published as the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement cumulation for 1907-1915. Title changed to International Index: A Guide to Periodical Literature in the Social Sciences & Humanities (1955-1965). From 1965-1974, title changed to Social Sciences and Humanities Index. In 1974 split into separate Social Sciences Index and Humanities Index [all shelved on East Index Shelves]. Coverage has varied over the years, but scholarly journals are current scope. Book review section began in 1974.

JSTOR (dates vary by title).
Updated monthly. An archival journal resource that provides searchable access to the full-text of about 700 unique journal titles in diverse fields. Note that the last 1 to 7 years of each journal are not available in JSTOR. [Web]
Note:Several journals important to the history of psychology are indexed in this source, and their full text provided. See Section XII: Major Serials and Periodicals for journal titles; those included in JSTOR are so indicated. [Web]

Periodicals Index Online (1665-1995) and Periodicals Archive Online (1802-1995). United Kingdom: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey Ltd.
Updated four times a year. Periodicals Index Online (PIO) is an index only, linking to full-text when available. Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is full-text only. It does not include entries without full-text in PIO. Periodicals Index Online (PIO) indexes articles in over 4,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Currently, over 500 journal titles are at least partially available in the complementary database, Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). The focus is on 20th century periodicals. However, periodicals in the 20th century that extend back into the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries are indexed from their earliest volumes. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. [Web]
Note: A number of journals important to the history of psychology are indexed in this source; full text is available for a few of these journals. See Section XII: Major Serials and Periodicals for journal titles; those included in PAO are indicated by the notation [PAO]. [Web]

Philosopher's Index. (1940- ). Bowling Green, OH: Philosopher's Information Center.
Updated quarterly. Indexes and partially abstracts journal articles (300+ journals), essays from books, and monographs in philosophy and related fields. Covers English as well as non-English language publications. [Web]

Project Muse. (dates vary by title). Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text access to 250+ scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and 20+ other non-for-profit presses in the areas of humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. [Web]

Psychological Abstracts. (1927-2001 ). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
[1927-1966 East Index Shelves Ref. BF 1 .P65; 1967-2001 shelved in stacks at BF 1 .P65]
The primary print index of psychological literature. Incorporated into the PsycINFO and Historic PsycINFO databases. Pius also has the Author Index to Psychological Index (1894-1935) and Psychological Abstracts (1927-1958), the Author Index to Psychological Abstracts First Supplement (1959-1963), and the Cumulative Author Index to Psychological Abstracts Second Supplement (1964-1968); as well as the Cumulative Subject Index to Psychological Abstracts (1927-1960), and the Cumulative Subject Index to Psychological Abstracts Second Supplement (1966-1968) [all shelved on East Index Shelves].

Psychological Index: An Annual Bibliography of the Literature of Psychology and Cognate Subjects. (1894-1935). Princeton: Psychological Review.
[East Index Shelves Ref. BF 1 .P64]
Subtitle varies. Originally published as a bibliographic supplement to the Psychological Review. Ceased publication soon after Psychological Abstracts was initiated. Searchable electronically from 1894-1935 in 19th Century Masterfile; citations to English-language journals only are searchable from 1894-1935 in PsycINFO .

PsycINFO. (1967- ). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Updated weekly. This database indexes and abstracts the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines. Its coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts of journals in 25+ languages, and books, book chapters, and dissertations in English. PsycINFO links to the full-text of articles available in the journals covered by the PsycARTICLES database (which also can be searched independently), as well as to the full-text of articles appearing in many other journals for which the SLU Libraries have online access. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text English-language articles, errata, and letters to the editor from journals published by the APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Backfiles back to Volume 1, Issue 1, are included for the APA journals. A list of the titles available can be found here. [Web]

Historic PsycINFO (pre-1967). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Database consists of citations and abstracts from Psychological Abstracts (1927–1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921–1926), American Journal of Psychology (1887–1966), all APA journals back to first issue of publication, Psychological Index citations to English language journals only (1894–1935), and Classic Books in Psychology of the 20th Century and the Harvard Book List, 1840–1971. [Web]

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. (1900- ). New York: Wilson.
[East Index Shelves Ref. AI 3 .R48]
Standard library index to popular and general periodicals. Actually a good resource fo historical information on psychology and psychologists. Its predecessors [also shelved on East Index Shelves] were Nineteenth-Century Reader's Guide (1890-1899) [Ref. AI 3 .N5 1944] and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) [Ref. AI 3 .P7 1963. Poole's is searchable electronically in 19th Century Masterfile.

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). (1956- ). Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information.
[Ref. Z 7161 .S65]
This resource provides author and subject indexing for articles published worldwide in social science journals. It also supports citation indexing, which establishes links between cited articles and the more recent publications in which they are cited. Pius holds hard copy format from 1956-2000 and CD-ROM format from 1981-1998. Searchable as Web of Science® database from 1995-date.
Note: Another potentially useful source is Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Pius holds hard copy format from 1985-date [Ref. AI 3 .A63], CD-ROM format from 1985-1998, and has access via the Web of Science® database from 1995-date.

Web of Science®. (1995- ). Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information.
Updated weekly. Now runs on the Web of Knowledge interface. Includes thousands of research journals from hundreds of disciplines. Do a Cited Reference search by Cited Author, Cied Journal Title, or Cited Year or do a General Search by Author, Journal Title, or Address such as institution name, city, country, or even zip code. The Web of Science® consists of Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®; ©Copyright Institute for Scientific Information 2007. [Web]

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals. (1824-1900). London; New York: Routledge.
[Ask at Information Desk]
This CD-ROM provides indexing for 45 periodicals from the Victorian era from the print Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals [Ref. AI 3 .W45] and additional material published in the Victorian Periodicals Review [PN 5124.P4 .V52]. Search by date, author, title, and more.