Important Archives for the History of Psychology Include:
Archives of the American Psychological Association
This rich site includes a list of major APA award winners; online versions of APA guidelines, resolutions, and statements; finding aids for APA materials held by the Library of Congress; a directory of annual APA meeetings from 1892-present; division membership statistics; a database that identifies US sites of psychology-related manuscript collections; citations to obituaries published in the American Psychologist; holdings information regarding oral histories; a list of APA presidential addresses (with links to text); a directory of images of psychologists or psychology-related topics in publications; and annual APA membership data (1892- ).
Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP)
Located at the University of Akron, the major U.S. archive for psychology outside of the Library of Congress and the APA. Another phenomenally rich resource. Site features include online finding aids; a listing of the Archives' collections; an illustrated instruments and apparatus collection; and a subject-searchable database of the Archives' mental-health related materials. The AHAP and the Society for the History of Psychology (SHP) were featured in the May 2006 issue of the APA Monitor (www.apa.org/monitor/may06/closer.html).
Canadian Psychological Association (CAP) Archives
Located in Ottowa, Canada, the CPA Archives house materials related to the history of the Canadian Psychological Association as well as those related to the history of Candadian psychology generally. .
History of Psychology Centre (British Psychological Society)
Located in London, the Centre is the main repository of the archive collections of the British Psychological Society.
The New York Psychoanalytic Society & Institute
Under "resources," see links to the Brill Library and, especially, Archives.
Sigmund Freud Archives
An independent organization that collects, conserves, and makes available Freud's work for preservation and use at the Library of Congress. Some documents are available online at this site.
Other Sources of Archival Information:
Biographical research may require or be informed by the use of resources such as official government records (e.g., federal census rolls, ship passenger manifests, and military records), church records, and cemetery records. Such materials frequently are used in genealogical research, which is beyond the scope of the Resource Guide: History of Psychology. For guidance in conducting this type of research, use the SLU Library catalog for publications in the Pius Library collection (See Section XI: Library Book Collections). These Web sites also may be helpful:
Resources for Genealogists/Family Historians (www.archives.gov/genealogy/index.html), the site of the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, is the source for many federal documents, including U.S. census rolls.
Ellis Island Passenger Arrivals: American Family Immigration History Center (www.ellisisland.org/) provides access to a variety of immigrant arrival records and other resources stored in the Ellis Island Archives.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet (www.cyndislist.com/) is an extensive compilation of links to Web sites worldwide and a must-see for genealogists, beginner or advanced.
The Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter-Day Saints is renowned for its worldwide collection of genealogical records accessible through its Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and Family History Centers all over the world. Visit its FamilySearch.org - Family History and Genealogy Records (www.familysearch.org/) site.