Skip to main content

History of Psychology: Library Book Collections

Library Book Collections

Via the Internet, search the electronic catalogs of libraries worldwide, small and large--including those of major research institutions and national libraries--at no charge. The Pius Library Web site provides links to Other Libraries (www.slu.edu/libraries/pius/othlibs/othlibs.html). Furthermore, the WorldCat database, updated daily, may be used to search all types of library materials (except individual journal articles) dating from 1200 and cataloged by libraries that contribute their records to OCLC, the U.S. national database. Remote access to WorldCat is subject to the same restrictions as other commercial databases.

The SLU Library Catalog (libcat.slu.edu/) consists of the holdings of the Saint Louis University libraries. It is a component of MOBIUS (mobius.missouri.edu/search/), a consortium of over fifty academic libraries in Missouri with its own shared catalog. To look for a book, begin the search in the SLU Library Catalog. If the book is owned by Pius and currently available, it should be at the shelf location identified by its call number. If the book is unavailable at Pius but can be found at another SLU library, use the Library Catalog's Request feature to borrow it from another SLU Library (you can also go and check it out yourself from these libraries). If the book is unavailable from a SLU Library, then use the Search MOBIUS feature to search the MOBIUS Catalog. Finally, if the book is unavailable from both the SLU Libraries and MOBIUS, place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request for it through the ILLIAD system (illiad.slu.edu/illiad/xii/logon.html). All requests for journal articles should be placed through ILL.

Most academic libraries use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to categorize their holdings topically. Selected broad LCSH for use in library catalog searches for topics related to the history of psychology include:

PSYCHOLOGISTS -- BIOGRAPHY
PSYCHOLOGISTS -- BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY
PSYCHOLOGY -- HISTORY
PSYCHOLOGY -- HISTORY -- 19TH CENTURY
PSYCHOLOGY -- HISTORY -- 20TH CENTURY
PSYCHOLOGY -- HISTORY -- BIBLIOGRAPHY
PSYCHOLOGY -- HISTORY -- UNITED STATES
WOMEN PSYCHOLOGISTS

Note the subheadings (e.g., history) that can help you focus your search. Further, some subject subheadings are used to inidicate primary source material. These include: Correspondence, Documents, Letters, Personal Narratives, Sources, Works, Writings. Search examples:
      Keyword Search:  Phrenology and Sources
or
      Subject Search:  Freud, Sigmund, 1856-1939 -- Correspondence

Also, remember to search for important persons as authors as well as subjects, e.g.,
      Author Search:  Hall, G. Stanley (Granville Stanley), 1844-1924

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline (www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/) for a detailed breakdown of subject classes (i.e., call number areas). Psychology's main class BF, but related resources will be classified elsewhere, e.g., RC for psychiatry (abnormal).