Skip to main content

History of Psychology: Factual Information, Including Biography, with Discussion

Factual Information, Including Biography, with Discussion

Biographical memoirs. Washington, D.C.: National Academy of Sciences.
[Q 141 .N2]
Includes biographical sketches of prominent psychologists. Pius has vols. 1,3-6,12-14,16, and 19-52 in hard copy.
Note: Free online access to many volumes in this series, especially later ones, is available via the National Academy of Sciences (www.nasonline.org/site/PageServer?pagename=MEMOIRS_A). This Web site also makes available InterViews (www.nasonline.org/site/PageServer?pagename=INTERVIEWS_Main), lengthy first-person accounts of the lives and work of Academy members.

Gillispie, C. C. (Ed.). (1970-1990). Dictionary of scientific biography (Vols. 1-18). New York: Scribner.
[Ref. Q 141 .D5 and Online via GVRL ]
Covers deceased persons "whose work was intrinsically related to the sciences of nature or to mathematics" so sketches of psychologists are few. Treatment focuses on subjects' professional lives but includes some personal information and bibliographies. There are 14 volumes in the base set plus 4 supplementary volumes.

Kimble, G. A., Wertheimer, M., & White, C. (Eds.). (1991-2000). Portraits of pioneers in psychology (Vols. 1-6). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
[BF 109 .A1 P67 1991]
Note: Volume 2 (1996) edited by G. A. Kimble, C. A. Bonaeau, & M. Wertheimer. Volume 3 (1998) edited by G. A. Kimble, & M. Wertheimer. Volumes 4 (2000) and 5 (2003) edited by G.A. Kimble & M. Wertheimer. Volume 6 (2006) edited by G. A. Kimble, M. Wertheimer, & C. White.
Excellent biographical essays detailing the subjects' contributions to the field.

Moss, D. (Ed.). (1999). Humanistic and transpersonal psychology: A historical and biographical sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
[BF 204 .H865 1999]
Essays on the history and significance of the Third Force, and individuals who had a significant impact on it.

O'Connell, A. N., & Russo, N. F. (1983). Models of achievement: Reflections of eminent women in psychology (Vols. 1-3). New York: Columbia University Press.
[BF 109 .A1 M6 1983]
Note: Volume 3 (2001), edited by A.N. O'Connell, has imprint: Mahwah, NJ: L. Erlbaum Associates.

O'Connell, A. N., & Russo, N. F. (1990). Women in psychology: A bio-bibliographic sourcebook. New York: Greenwood.
[Ref. BF 109 .A1 W65 1990]
The authors are notable for their longstanding efforts to bring deserved attention to women, often overlooked, who made significant contributions to the discipline.

Smelser, N. J., & Baltes, P. B. (Eds.). (2001) International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (Vols. 1-26). Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier.
[Ref. H 41 .I58 2001 Vols.1-26]
This extensive resource covers the growth and specialization of knowledge, interdisciplinary development, and expanded directions in research in a wide variety of subject areas. It includes biographical information as well as a section on "Psychology: History and Fields." It updates these classic reference works:
Sills, D. L. (Ed.). (1968-1979) International encyclopedia of the social sciences (Vols. 1-19). New York: Macmillan & The Free Press. [Ref. H 40 .A2 I5]. This 19-volume set contains biographical articles of persons living and dead, of greater and lesser eminence. Articles include bibliographies. Volume 18 is devoted solely to biographies, but they appear in the base set as well. Complements its predecessor: Seligman, E. R. A. (Ed.). (1930-1935). The encyclopedia of the social sciences (Vols. 1-15). New York: Macmillan. [Ref. H 41. E6]

Stevens, G., & Gardner, S. (1982). The women of psychology (Vols. 1-2). Cambridge, MA: Schenkman.
[BF 95 .S73 1982]
Note: Volume 1 is subtitled Pioneers and innovators; Volume 2 is subtitled Expansion and refinement.
Essays combine personal and career information; include bibliographies.