Classical Adlerian Psychology Web site developed by the Alfred Adler Institute of San Francisco includes biographical sketches of Adler (and other Adlerian psychologists), interviews, and readings.
Association for Humanistic Psychology
Includes Humanistic Psychology Overview and bibliographies.
Sir Fredric Bartlett Internet Archive
Includes documents, bibliography, photos, and Web links related to the live and work of the English cognitive psychologist. Developed and maintained by Gerard Duveen, Alex Gillespie, & Brady Wagoner, Cambridge University, Social & Developmental Psychology Department.
A lengthy list of links to sites about historical figures in psychology. It is part of History of Psychology Links (www.socialpsychology.org/history.htm), one of the psychology subject area options incorporated into the outstanding Social Psychology Network site (www.socialpsychology.org/)created and maintained by Scott Plous, Ph.D., Wesleyan University.
Celebrities in Cognitive Science
Collection of links to works by and about leaders in cognitive science, including psychologists. Compiled by Martin Ryder, University of Colorado at Denver, School of Education.
While not a psychologist, Darwin's work transformed scientific thought and had a significant and continuing impact on psychology.
- Darwin Correspondence Project
Based at the Cambridge (UK) University Library, the goal of this project is the publication of the definitive edition of letters to and from Darwin.
- The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online
Created and maintained by John van Wyhe, Ph.D., Department of History & Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge.
In addition to Freud: Conflict & Culture (See Section XIII: Selected Web Sites: Exhibitions), visit these sites:
Sir Francis Galton F.R.S.
Extensively annotated and replete with primary documents and images of original sources, this site conveys the many facets of Galton's life and work.
Human Intelligence: Historical Influences, Current Controversies, Teaching Resources
Features short biographies of influential persons in the field, as well as discussions of topics such as the Bell Curve, Goddard and the Kallikak Family, and the Cyril Burt Affair. A neat feature is an interactive map (i.e., timeline) of the "History of Influences in the Development of Intelligence Theory & Testing."
Important Scientists in the Early Development of Comparative Cognition
Information by and about Charles Darwin, George Romanes, C.L. Morgan, Ivan Pavlov, Edward Thorndike, Wolfgang Kohler, Konrad Lorenz, and B.F. Skinner. Part of a course Web site developed by Robert Cook, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, Tufts University.
A wonderfully extensive site devoted to the father of American psychology. Created by Frank Pajares, Ph.D., Emory University. Relatedly, see also the new interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, online journal William James Studies.
Detailed biographical sketches are part of this electronic textbook designed by Dr. C. George Boeree, Shippensburg University.
Jean Piaget Society
Includes a biographical sketch and list of major publications.
A Science Odyssey: People and Discoveries: Human Behavior
A PBS/WGBH (Boston) educational site containing brief biographical sketches and descriptions of major discoveries related to the mind.
B. F. Skinner Foundation
A publishing/educational endeavor that provides information about Skinner's work, a complete bibliography of his publications, and image and audio files.
Women in Psychology
- Society for the Psychology of Women Heritage Site
Division 35's site "devoted to documenting the role of women in the history of psychology and promoting feminist approaches to writing, teaching, and understanding psychology and psychology's history" (text from site). Includes biographical articles on women in psychology as well as related links.
- Women in Psychology
Highlights women's significant contributions to psychology. The developers of this site, Charles I. Abramson, Ph.D., and Melanie Page, Ph.D., Oklahoma State University, received a 2002 Instructional Resource Award from the Office of Teaching Resources in Psychology (teachpsych.org/otrp/index.php) of the Society for the Teaching of Psychology (APA Division 2) (teachpsych.org/index.php) to support its development.
- Women's Intellectual Contributions to the Study of Mind and Society
Biographical sketches prepared by students in an advanced seminar taught by Linda M. Woolf, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, Webster University.