Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published annually by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides succinct overviews of jobs in many fields.
See also the Occupational Outlook Quarterly, published by the same source (http://www.bls.gov/opub/ooq/home.htm).
O*Net OnLine (Occupational Information Network)
This database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with over 900 occupations.
Saint Louis University Career Services
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration, this site provides free tools and resources about a variety of work-related topics.
Questions One Should Be Prepared to Answer for Job Interviews
Compiled by Dr. Mary Corbin Sies, University of Maryland-College Park, for her academic job search in American Studies. It's an older website, but the questions remain valid. Most of the questions are applicable to, or can be adapted to, job searches in other disciplines.
Career Development (APA)
Explore resources about academic careers, non-academic careers, and practice. See also Career Guides and first-person accounts of "Interesting Careers in Psychological Science."
Chart prepared by the Career Planning staff of Career Services at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville; rights acquired by Saint Louis University Career Services. Features areas of employment, types of employers, and developmental strategies.
Career Decision Tree for Psychology Students
Question-answer formatted site presented by the M.A.-Clinical Psychology and Ed.S.-School Psychology Graduate Programs of Western Kentucky University.
Center for Workforce Studies (APA)
Education and Employment Data, mainly by degree level
APA Web site that hosts job-seeker resumes and supports employer searches of the resumes in its databases. Accounts are required and fees are charged for resume searches. The site also includes a variety of career-related Web links.
APA article series on Interesting Careers in Non-Academic Psychology (http://www.apa.org/science/nonacad_careers.html)
Eye on Psi Chi
Available online from Fall 1996 (Volume 1, Issue 1) to date. Searchable from home page; browsable by issue or by category (e.g., Career Preparation, Fields of Psychology). Some recent career-related articles:
- Occupations of Interest to Psychology Majors From the Dictionary of Occupational Titles Volume 10, No. 4 Summer 2006
Monitor on Psychology
Available online from January 1998-date. Searchable from home page or browsable by issue (http://www.apa.org/monitor/); click on "Previous Issues" in the navigation bar under "In this issue." Some recent career-related articles:
- Overgeneralizing the generations: As workplaces become increasingly age-diverse, psychologists are working to help people of all ages work together. Volume 40, No. 6 June 2009
- Needed: More military psychologists Volume 40, No. 5 May 2009
- A head start for early career psychologists: APA offers a variety of resources to help new researchers and practitioners launch their careers in today's challenging marketplace. Volume 40, No. 5 May 2009
- Connecting with your community: Practitioners offer advice on how early career psychologists can find the people who need their help Volume 40, No. 2 February 2009
- Psychology's growth careers Volume 39, No. 4 April 2008
- How to land your second job Volume 36, No. 9 October 2005
- Too few in quantitative psychology Volume 36, No. 8 September 2005
- Psychologists in public service Volume 36, No. 7 July/August 2005
- A rare breed (Applied animal behaviorists) Volume 36, No. 4 April 2005
- Psychological sleuths Volume 35, No. 7 July/August 2004
- Good news for bachelor's grads: Psychology training opens doors for recent graduates Volume 33, No. 6 June 2002
- Career rotations: Behavioral scientists are energizing their careers with stints as rotators at the National Science Foundation Volume 33, No. 6 June 2002
- The career path less traveled Volume 32, No. 2 February 2001
- Future psychologists embrace novel careers Volume 31, No. 9 October 2000
- If I'd only known... [Wish you'd known the secrets of faculty life before you started your first job in academe?] Volume 31, No. 7 July/August 2000
Prepared by Dr. Steven M. Davis, North Central College.
So Your Students Want to be Sports Psychologists! (2003)
Prepared by Diane L. Finley, Prince George's Community College.
Human Factors Careers
The Web site of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society links to several education- and career-related documents (see "Information for Students" section).