Research Guides: Atmospheric Science: Databases

Major databases for Atmospheric Sciences

Use a database to find articles and other publications about a topic, information about articles (e.g. how often they have been cited by other articles), information about authors, tools for finding related articles and tools for managing results. There is overlap among the databases as well as unique content.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes many (but not all) major scholarly journals. Use for a topic search or a citation search. Explore the interconnections between articles using this powerful database.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Some 1788-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for scholarly materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities. Similar to Web of Science…..more.
American Meteorological Society (AMS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Search across all AMS journals or browse each title. SLU currently subscribes to 5 titles, Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology, Journal of Climate, Monthly Weather Review, and Weather and Forecasting. Journal content from inception to 3 years ago is freely available.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Search across 180+ high-impact biological, ecological, and environmental science research journals and other publications in the former BioOne.1, BioOne.2, and OpenAccess Collections....more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Some 1888-present. Search over 2,200 domestic and international journal/magazine titles, of which over 1,350 are active titles, for information on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental technology, natural resources, pollution & waste management, urban planning, and more. Full text is available for more than 920 journals, including Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, and Conservation Biology.... more.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present by indexing all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and over 3,500 journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Produced by the American Geological Institute….more.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Full text of dissertations generally published after 1996. Abstracts of dissertations published generally after 1980.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Look up the impact factor for a particular journal or view journals with the highest impact factors in a given field.

Complete SLU database list

SLU database list

Training resources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar @ SLU This link opens in a new window
Many researchers begin with a Google Scholar search then progress to a search in a more specialized database such as Web of Science, Scopus or Georef. GS links to the Web of Science subscription database.

Google Scholar - more info
What is included in Google Scholar?
How are citations calculated?
How frequently is Google Scholar updated?
and much more...
Set up your Google Scholar Preferences for SLU Full Text
Go to Google Scholar Settings-Library Links
In Library Links, type Saint Louis University and click Find Library
When the library choices display, place a check mark in front of Saint Louis University (Full-Text Options@SLU)
Set the other options to your preference and click Save Preferences