Research Guides: Molecular Biology Research Tools on the Web: Home

Find Molecular Biology Resources

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) This link opens in a new window
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."

Nucleic Acids Research Database Issue
Annual update of bioinformatics databases already existing, in addition to introduction of new tools.
Bioinformatics Organization
Expasy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
"ExPASy is the new SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc. (see Categories in the left menu). On this portal you find resources from many different SIB groups as well as external institutions. " --from the home page of this resource
Open Helix
Free tutorials on the use of various bioinformatics tools that are found on the Web.
Also provides a search portal to find the most relevant genomics resource and training on those resources.
PubChem
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
U of Pittsburgh Molecular Biology Database Search
A comprehensive search tool that permits searching for databases, genes/proteins, protocols and videos on molecular biology topics.
Viral Bioinformatics Resource Center
Single site for access to databases, tools and a blog on viral bioinformatics research
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)

EurekAlert!
EurekAlert! is an online, global news service operated by AAAS, the science society. EurekAlert! provides a central place through which universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations and other organizations engaged in research can bring their news to the media. Choose from multiple topic areas.
Journal Watch
From the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine to help physicians and allied heath professionals save time and stay informed by providing brief, clearly written, clinically focused perspectives on the medical developments that affect practice. Some content requires a subscription for access.
Medical News Today --Biology/Biochemistry
"Medical News Today brings you hourly health news from well-regarded sources such as JAMA, BMJ, Lancet, BMA, plus articles written by our own team. Our archive contains over 150,000 news articles."
The Open Helix Blog
"Here on the OpenHelix blog you will find a genomics resources news portal with daily postings about genomics resources, genomics news and research, science and more." more
NCBI Insights

Springer Protocols
A subscription-based resource that compiles "protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols (free only)
Only free protocols available without charge.
> "an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. " more
ATCC
Website for ATCC which is a source of cell lines, bacterial strains and other microbiological reagents. You may access separate pages for microbiology, cell biology, developmental biology and stem cells, and genomics-bioinformatics
Protocols Online
Collection of protocols, online analysis tools and discussion forums in various categories that are freely available

JoVE Unlimited - Journal of Visual Experiments This link opens in a new window
The world's first and only peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Articles include text description and video demonstration of experiments. JoVE also publishes educational and instructional videos for use in the classroom and lab. Our subscription includes all content.