IMPORTANT! Books labeled "Ref" are located on "Reference" sections of shelving on the upstairs floors where the books' call numbers are located. For example, books labeled "Ref. E" and "Ref. HV" are shelved on Level 2 because that's where the other items with those call numbers are shelved. The Reference shelving sections are located at the beginning of the call number sequence on each floor. [Ref. books A-D are an exception; all are shelved just inside the entry to Lewis Annex Level 4.] While these books reside in the stack areas, they remain "library use only." See the Location Guide for details.
TIP: Online sources can be searched through their source database (i.e., Gale eBooks, EBSCO, Sage). However, conducting a title search in the SLU Libraries Catalog is a more direct approach.
Alters, S. (2013). World poverty. Detroit, MI: Gale.
ONLINE (Gale eBooks)
Borgatta, E. F., & Montgomery, R.J.V. (Eds.). (2000). Encyclopedia of sociology (2nd ed.,Vols. 1-5). New York: Macmillan.
ONLINE (Gale eBooks) + HM 425 .E5 2000 Vols.1-5
Fitzpatrick, K. M. (Ed.). (2013). Poverty and health: A crisis among America's most vulnerable (Vols. 1-2). Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger.
RA 418.5 .P6 P682 2013 Vols. 1-2
Herrick, J. M., & Stuart, P. H. (Eds.). (2008). Encyclopedia of social welfare history in North America. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
ONLINE (Gale eBooks) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + Ref. HV 12 .E497 2005
Levinson, D. (Ed.). (2004). Encyclopedia of homelessness (Vols. 1-2). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
ONLINE (Gale eBooks) + HV 4493 .E53 2004 Vols. 1-2
Mink, G., & O'Connor, A. (Eds.). (2004). Poverty in the United States: An encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy (Vols. 1-2). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
HC 110 .P6 P598 2004 Vols.1-2
Odekon, M. (Ed.). (2015). Sage encyclopedia of world poverty (2nd ed., Vols. 1-5). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
ONLINE (Gale eBooks) + ONLINE (Sage)
Parrillo, V.N. (Ed.). (2008). Encyclopedia of social problems. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
ONLINE (Sage) + ONLINE (EBSCOhost)
Ritzer, G. (Ed.). (2007). Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.
ONLINE (Blackwell)
Like scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks are the product of the work of experts in a field or on a topic. Handbooks typically contain review essays, lengthier than those found in encyclopedias, that address the state of a field or current developments and research on specific topics within a field. The following list identifies recently published poverty-focused handbooks available via the SLU Libraries. Some of the titles on this list are available in print format only, and all of those are in Pius Library. You may find it helpful to conduct a title search in the SLU Libraries Catalog to view the record for these publications, as many of the Catalog records include tables of contents or links to them.
Beland, D., Howard, C., & Morgan, K.J. (Eds.). The Oxford handbook of U.S. social policy. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + HN 57 .0945 2015
Castles, F.G., et al. (Eds.). (2010). The Oxford handbook of the welfare state. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
JC 479 .O94 2010
Crane, R.D., & Heaton, T.B. (Eds.). (2008). Handbook of families and poverty. Los Angeles: Sage.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + HC 110 .P6 H36 2008
Gilbert, G. (2008). Rich and poor in America: A reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO
HC 110 .I5 G55 2008
Gilbert, G. (2004). World poverty: A reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
HC 59.72 .P6 G53 2004
Iceland, J. (Ed.). (2013). Poverty in America: A handbook (3rd ed.). Berkeley: University of California Press.
ONLINE (EBSCOhost) + HC 110 .P6 I25 2013
Jefferson, P.N. (Ed.). (2012). The Oxford handbook of the economics of poverty. New York: Oxford University Press.
HC 79 .P6 O962 2012
Maholmes, V., & King, R.B. (Eds.). (2012). The Oxford handbook of poverty and child development. New York: Oxford University Press.
HV 713 O94 2012