Skip to main content

Poverty, The Structure of: Databases

Poverty-Related Databases

Listed below are selected SLU Libraries-provided databases that may identify research related to the structure of poverty; this is not a comprehensive list. The subject headings (LCSH) used to find books and other materials in the SLU Libraries Catalog may be useful starting points to search for information in these databases as well; however, be mindful that each of these databases may have its own unique subject vocabulary.

BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT

ABI / INFORM Complete.   1900 with some earlier - .   ProQuest.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.
Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus.  Some full text is available for many of the publications.  Examples of areas covered are accounting and taxation, banking and finance, economics, government, health care, human resources, labor relations, marketing, public administration, real estate, etc.

Business Source Premier.   1965- .   EBSCOhost.   In-library and remote access.
   Updated daily.   This premier business database provides indexing and abstracting for several hundred of the most important scholarly business journals "back to 1965 or the first published issue." In addition, it includes indexing and abstracting for over 6,000 business journals and magazines, many peer-reviewed, in addition to books, country economic reports, industry reports and yearbooks; SWOT analyses, market research reports, and over 67,000 Associated Press videos. Business subjects covered include "marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics." Subscription includes a companion database, Regional Business News.

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition).  January 2, 1984 - .   Proquest in ABI/INFORM Complete.   In-library and remote access.
    Updated daily.   This newspaper is part of the ABI/INFORM Complete database. It "is the financial newspaper of record" and "offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news" [text from site]. Note: The SLU Libraries also offer the Wall Street Journal Digital Subscription with coverage from the last four years, as well as the 
Wall Street Journal Digital (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers) database, with coverage from 2008 - about three months ago.

 

ECONOMICS

EconLit  1886 - .   EBSCOhost.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly. Produced by the American Economic Association, this is the major index for locating literature in economics. Indexes worldwide literature on economics from books, working papers, collective volumes, and more than 300 major economics journals.

 

LEGAL AND GOVERNMENT ISSUES

CQ Magazine.  March 7, 2016 - .  In-library and remote access.
     Updated weekly. Formerly CQ Weekly (pre-March 2016).   Major source of non-partisan Congressional legislative news and activity.  Includes access to all articles published online since 1983.

GovInfo.  Coverage varies.  In-library and remote access.

     Updated on ongoing basis.  A service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), GovINFO provides free public access to the full text of current and historical official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It includes bills and statutes, budget and presidential materials, Congressional committee materials, judicial publications, and more. The majority of the material is from the last twenty five years, but a significant amount of digitized historical material is also included. Screen reader support enabled. 

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text.  1981- .   EBSCOhost.  Accessible only in the SLU Law School Library.
     Updated daily.  This reference-only database provides citations to scholarly articles from over 600 legal journals and law reviews periodicals in addition to symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, and book reviews, as well as full text for over 470 perioidicals dating back to 1981 for some publications.  
Courtesy of the Vincent C. Immel Law Library,

PAIS Index.   1915 -  .  ProQuest.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly. Produced by the Public Affairs Information Service, this database covers issues in public policy through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference proceedings, web content, and more.  Subject areas include economic, political, and social issues, public administration, law, business, and political science. Over 1,600 journals published worldwide in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish are selectively indexed each year. PAIS Index includes both PAIS International (current file covering 1972-date) and PAIS Archive (content from printed volumes 1915-1976).

ProQuest Congressional.   ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.
     Update, start date, and frequency vary by source. Access to U.S. legislative information in addition to a bill tracking file from 1989- , full text for bills and resolutions from 1789- , legislative histories from 1969- , as well as selected committee prints, hot bills and topics, congressional testimony, committee reports, House and Senate documents, voting records in Congress, and member information including financial disclosures and campaign contributions. The Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, available from the Advanced Search tab, includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-2016. Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports are also available from 2004 to present. Note: A freely accessible database for federal legislation is Congress.gov.

Public Affairs Index.  Some 1937 - present.  EBSCOhost.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated ??.  Indexes and abstracts a wide array of over 3,600 sources that include academic journals, trade journals, conference papers, and government documents on a wide range of public affairs topics  Coverage is both national and international.  Most titles are indexed selectively but about 250 are indexed cover to cover. 

 

NEWS, GENERAL, AND MULTIDISCIPLINARY INFORMATION

Academic Search Complete.  Some 1887 to present.   EBSCOhost.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  This multidisciplinary and multi-format database indexes and abstracts over 17,800 publications including more than 11,500 with some full text. Over 15,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed. Other types of publications indexed and abstracted include monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Covers subjects found in college and university curricula such as biological and medical sciences, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion & theology, sociology, and women's studies.

Annual Reviews.    Earlier volumes to present.    Annual Reviews.   In-library and remote access.
     Annually as each volume becomes available. This link takes you to a listing of all Annual Reviews (collections of extensive literature reviews). You may then select the subject Annual Review of your choice. Browse tables of contents for any of the individual titles, search the entire collection, or browse or search the topical collections (the Social Sciences collection is the most relevant for poverty research).

Chicago Tribune  (ProQuest Historical Newspapers).  1849-1996.  ProQuest.  In-library and remote access.

     Provides digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available. Search the full text and display pdf of article as well as position of article on the original page. 

CQ Researcher.   October 25, 1991- .   CQ Press.  In-library and remote access.
     Published 48 times each year, each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth. Search or browse by topic or by date. Browse Issue Trackers for related reports.  Its print counterpart, originally called Editorial Research Reports, changed names to CQ Researcher beginning in 1991.

JSTOR.  Coverage dates vary by title.  Johns Hopkins University Press.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated annually.  
This primarily archival journal resource and current scholarship program journals provide access to full-text of approximately 1200 unique (does NOT count previous titles for same periodical) journal titles (as of September 2019). These titles are contained in 10 collections: Arts & Sciences I through VIII, the Life Sciences Collection, and 19th Century British Pamphlets. Subjects covered include history, language and literature, general science, ecology, biology, law, education, business, theology, and more. Due to its archival nature, the last 1 to 7 years of archival journals are not available in this resource.

New York Times  Coverage dates vary by resource.   In-library and remote access. 
     Access to full next of this major U.S. newspaper is available via several resources;

Nexis Uni.   Coverage dates vary.  LexisNexis.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated continuously.  Formerly LexisNexis Academic.  Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources (court cases, statutes, legislation) for both state and federal levels.  For more extensive legislative histories of United States bills, see ProQuest Congressional.

Project Muse.   Coverage dates vary by title.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated continually. 
Full-text access to over 700 scholarly journals and open access ebooks from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in humanities and social sciences with some science, technology, and math.

Social Sciences Citation Index. See Web of Science®.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch   Coverages dates vary by resource.   In-library and remote access.
    Access to full text of the major St. Louis daily newspaper is available via several resources:

Washington Post. Coverage dates vary by resource. In-library and remote access.

Web of Science®.   1990 -  .  Clarivate Analytics.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated weekly.  Web of Science® indexes thousands of research journals from hundreds of disciplines. Do a Cited Reference search by Cited Author, Cited Journal Title, or Cited Year or do a General Search by Author, Journal Title, or Address such as institution name, city, country, or even zip code.  The Web of Science® consists of Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®.

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).
This resource provides author and subject indexing for articles published worldwide in social science journals It also supports citation indexing, which establishes links between cited articles and the more recent publications in which they are cited. Pius holds print format from 1956-2000 [Ref. Z 7161 .S65]. Searchable as Web of Science® database from 1990-date.

WorldCat.   1200 - .   FirstSearch.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated daily.  This database includes all types of library materials cataloged by libraries that contribute their records to OCLC, the U.S. national database. Use to search for books, recordings, videos, Web sites, etc. Use the Libraries' version if you are comfortable with advanced searching techniques. For simplified searching and quick results in a library near you, use WorldCat "Lite", a freely available Web resource (see https://www.worldcat.org/ ).

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online.   1991-   Columbia University Press.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.   CIAO is a comprehensive resource for research and analysis of international politics and related fields. Content includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos from government research organizations,  university think tanks, and university analysis centers. It also contains maps and country data from the Economist Intelligence Unit.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.   1975 - .   ProQuest.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.   Indexes and abstracts "the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy." (text from site 8/11/06). It consists of the merged backfiles for Political Science Abstracts to 2000 and ABC POL SCI to 2000 plus expanded international coverage. Currently 67% of the over 1,500 journals monitored for inclusion are published outside of the United States.

 

SOCIAL WORK

Social Services Abstracts.   1980 - .   ProQuest.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.   This database indexes over 1,406 serial publications (journals, magazines, and other serials), provides abstracts for journal articles and dissertations, and citations for book reviews. Covers the following major areas for social services: "Community and mental health services; Crisis intervention; The family and social welfare; Gerontology; Poverty and homelessness; Professional issues in social work; Social and health policy; Social services in addiction; Social work education; Social work practice; Support groups/networks; Violence, abuse, neglect; and Welfare services."

Social Work Abstracts.   1965 - .   EBSCOhost.     In-library and remote access.
     Updated quarterly.   This database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, indexes and abstracts articles in over 850 social work and related human services journals as well as books and dissertations.

 

SOCIOLOGY

Sociological Abstracts.   1952 - .   ProQuest.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated monthly.   This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews from over 1,800 serials, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Journal records added since 1973 article abstracts. Many records from key sociology journals published since 2001 also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference.

 

WOMEN'S AND GENDER STUDIES

Women's Studies International.   1972 & earlier - .   EBSCOhost.   In-library and remote access.
     Updated twice monthly.   Women's Studies International combines Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography to provide indexing for areas in women's and gender studies including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Material types included are journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.