Skip to main content

Poverty, The Structure of: Statistics

Federal Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstract of the United States - annual compendium published by the federal government from 1878 - 2012 (discontinued due to federal budget cuts) and freely available online (https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html). Beginning with 2013, this extremely important resource is available commercially through the SLU Libraries as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Note: See also the Guide to State Statistical Abstracts (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/2011/compendia/statab/131ed/st-abstracts.html) for sources at the state level.

See also:
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970
Online at
https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html.

      See revised updated print version, Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to Present, Millennial Edition [Ref. HA 202 .H57 2006 Vols. 1-5].; Volumes cover (1) population; (2) work and welfare; (3) economic structure and performance; (4) economic sectors; and (5) governance and international relations. See also Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts online (http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html); available in PDF and ZIP file formats.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets.    Daily.    Data-Planet   In-library and remote access
    Provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data from banking to Zillow real estate data. Contains over 52 billion data points from over 6.2 billion datasets from more than 75 private and governmental organizations. Data can be presented in charts, maps, graphs, and tables. For help in using Data-Planet, see the Data-Planet Statistical Dataset LibGuide. Note: See Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference for a more user-friendly interface.

ICPSR.   Weekly    University of Michigan   In-library and remote access
    As a member of the ICPSR, Saint Louis University provides access for its students, faculty, and staff to a vast repository of social science data sets for research and instruction. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. All faculty, students, and staff downloading data need to create a MyData account. You can find out more about MyData,from the Get Help tab on the ICPSR's home page (
https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/). For a searchable list of articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, technical reports, etc., both published and unpublished, that analysed ICPSR data for some purpose, visit the ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature (https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/citations/).

Social Explorer (U.S. Census).    1790-   Social Explorer.  In-library and remote access.
     Updated as available. An ideal tool for identifying geographical census areas in the United States by selecting map areas or selecting table variables and then viewing maps or creating reports from the U.S. Census data from 1790 to present.  Also includes religion data, crime data from the UCR and FBI (2010 to most recent), Health Data (fro 2010 to present), i addition to the most recent United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, and European Statistical Data (Eurostat).

U.S. Bureau of the Census
https://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/poverty.html
     Resource page for poverty data.

World Development Indicators from World Data Bank.    1960 to 1-2 years ago.    World Bank Group.   In-library and remote access (free web resource).
     Updated annually.     This database provides over 500 timeseries for approximately 210 countries spanning various time periods from 1960 to one or two years prior to current year. Statistical series cover social, environment, economic, market, and global indicators as well as population projections. As of 2010, includes Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, and more
Browse data by country, indicator, or topic; or create a data set by selecting country or countries, indicator(s), and time frame. View data, export data, or create a formatted report.