Skip to main content

Medical Center Library Orientation: Online Databases

Overview of Medical Center Library resources and services

Overwhelmed?

You may feel overwhelmed and do not know which database to start with. Don't worry! Feel free to contact me for help!

taod@slu.edu

977-8812

Overiew and Selected Database List

Online databases are an information retrieval system that you can search for articles on a specific topic. The Medical Center Library has subscriptions to over 120 online databases in all major health care fields. The following is a selected list of databases for public health with the discipline focus presented in the parentheses.

ABI/Inform (Business and management)

Academic Search Complete (Comprehensive subject areas)

Global Health (Public health)

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) (for searching journal impact factor)

Lexis Nexis Academic (Legislation and law)

MEDLINE (Ovid) (Biomedical sciences and health care)

National Center for Health Statistics (Health/disease statistics data)

PsycINFO (Psychology)

PubMed (Biomedical sciences and health care)

Scopus (Science and social science)

Sociological Abstracts (Social science)

SportDiscus with Full Text (Physical therapy and exercise science)

TOXNET (Biosecurity)

Web of Science (Science and social science)

WorldCat (Online catalog to search library collections all over the world)

How to Access Databases

1. MCL Homepage http://lib.slu.edu/mcl -> Click on Databases link in the center box -> Browse Health & Medicine Databases 

2. Since public health is a multidisciplinary discipline, you may need to access to databases in other subject areas, such as education, business, engineer, social science, etc. The All SLU Library Databases link provides the database lists by subjects (more than 300 databases in total). To access, MCL Homepage http://lib.slu.edu/mcl -> Click on Databases link in the center box -> Browse All SLU Library Databases

Subject Guide

Donghua Tao's picture
Donghua Tao
Contact:
Interim Assistant Director for Information Services/Professor
Medical Center Library
Saint Louis University

Email: donghua.tao@slu.edu
314-977-8812