Skip to Main Content

First Year Law Students - Library sources for first year classes

Library study guides for first year law classes: Civil Procedure, Contracts, Torts, Constitutional Law, Property,

The Basics - Contracts

Key Call Number:

KF801 -- Contract Law


Book Locations:

Course Reserves are located at the Library Circulation Desk; they can be checked out for 3 hours at a time.

Electronic Resources - Contracts

Databases - Contracts

LexisNexis:

Searchable version of Corbin on Contracts,  a detailed analysis of all the tenets of the law of contracts.

COVERAGE-TYPE: Full-text FILE-NAME: CORBIN
 
Westlaw:

Searchable version of Williston on Contracts, 4th - a treatise that provides comprehensive analysis of all aspects of contract law.

DATABASE NAME:   Williston on Contracts, 4th;  Database Identifier: WILLSTN-CN
 

Electronic access to  Restatements of the Law of Contracts:
 
In addition to print copies, Restatements are available online in fully searchable database from 3 sources: Lexis, Westlaw and Hein Online. 
 
These databases contain the complete text of the Restatement of the Law Second - Contracts and the complete text of the First Restatement of Contracts.  Section documents contain the black letter Restatement, Illustrations, Reporter's Notes, and Commentaries. 
 

Access to Restatements on HeinOnline:  From the Hein Online link, select in the American Law Institute Library -

The American Law Institute Library contains full runs of the Institute's Annual Reports, Proceedings, Annual Meeting Speeches, and the Institute's newsletter, The ALI Reporter. It also includes the Restatements of the Law, Uniform Commercial Code, Model Penal Code, ALI-ABA Periodicals, and the Statement of Essential Human Rights (a pioneering ALI project of the mid-1940s).

Breach of Contract?

Stambovsky v. Ackley, 572 N.Y.S.2d 672 (N.Y. App. Div. 1991)

An action seeking rescission of a contract to purchase a house widely reputed to be possessed by poltergeists. The court held that a grant of equitable relief is warranted where the buyer, not a “local” and unfamiliar with the local folklore, could not readily have learned that the home he had contracted to purchase was haunted.