Skip to main content
Saint Louis University Libraries Research Guides
Immel Law Library       Madrid Library       Medical Center Library       Pius XII Memorial Library   

Archives & Digital Services: Our Collections

Introduction

The Department of Archives & Digital Services collects and preserves the archives, papers, manuscripts, and records of Saint Louis University and its associated faculty, staff, and students. These materials reflect the rich educational, historical, religious, and cultural heritage of Saint Louis University and of the St. Louis area. We also collect materials of significant research value representing individuals and institutions outside the university. Collections may be browsed individually using the link to the left of this page, or searched collectively via the search box directly below.

Access Guidelines

All users of the Archives and Rare Books reading room must sign in and register before using materials. On each subsequent visit, users must sign in, but do not need to re-register. To register, a patron must present a Saint Louis University ID or other valid photo ID and complete a patron registration and user agreement. Materials may not be removed from the reading room and while in use they are the responsibility of patrons until they are returned. Patrons agree to the follow conditions of use:

  • Coats, bags, and umbrellas must be stored in the lockers located near the entrance of the Saint Louis Room. Only a notebook, laptop computer, and pencil may be used alongside archival materials.
  • No food or drink, including bottled water, is allowed in the Saint Louis Room.
  • Please use pencils only. No pens or ink may be used near the materials.
  • Handle all items with care. Use foam supports with bound materials, turn pages carefully, make no marks on the materials, and do not lean or rest books or other objects on them.
  • Only one archival box at a time may be used without special permission.
  • Do not rearrange the order of unbound materials or leave multiple folders open at once.
  • If a copy is required, please consult a staff member to determine the most appropriate form of reproduction for the format and condition of the material.
  • The use of personal digital cameras is permitted, but patrons must follow the Policy for Use of Hand-Held Digital Cameras. Please consult with a staff member before using your camera.
  • When finished with materials, please inform a staff member.

Search the Archives' Collection Guides

Search Using SLUth Search Plus (SLU Catalog and Databases)

SLUth - Search Plus




Collection Overview

Archives & Digital Services consists of the following collection areas:

  • St. Louis University Archives: collections that constitute the historical record of St. Louis University from its beginnings in 1818 to the present day
    • University Records and Artifacts
      • Selected non-active administrative records, documents, and other materials of enduring historical value representing Saint Louis University. Current administrative records are maintained by their appropriate offices. Public access to university records may be limited depending on the nature of the material. Student records after 1920 are maintained by the Office of the University Registrar.
    • University Faculty/Alumni Papers and Manuscripts
      • Academic or personal papers of faculty members and select alumni documenting their service to Saint Louis University. Outstanding collections include the papers of Walter J. Ong, S.J., and James B. Macelwane, S.J.
    • University Publications
      • Archived copies of publications issued by Saint Louis University and by associated student groups such as university yearbooks, course catalogs, newspapers, histories, etc. Consult the library's catalog for individual titles or digital collections for online copies.
    • St. Louis University Dissertations and Theses
      • Original copies of doctoral dissertations and master's theses do not circulate but are available for consultation in the Archives and Rare Books reading room. Browse the library's catalog for individual titles. Archives staff are not permitted to reproduce dissertations or theses. Please contact Archives staff with any questions.
  • Personal and Institutional Papers and Manuscripts: collections of papers and manuscripts from individuals and institutions not associated with the University
  • Image Collections: still and moving images that have been organized into individual collections or that are associated with other collections

Digital Collections

Debbie's Profile

Deborah Cribbs
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library, 307
(314) 977-3109