Research Guides: Eastern European History: Primary Sources

Primary vs. Secondary

Primary sources are first-hand accounts of events or time periods in history.

Secondary sources are based upon the examination of primary and/or other secondary sources.

SLU Libraries Electronic Text Collections

Early English Books Online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more.

Important Terms

The following words indicate primary source material in the SLU Libraries Catalog and can be found in subject headings or used as part of a keyword search on a topic.

sources
correspondence
interviews
diaries
letters
memoirs
documents
speeches
personal narratives
early works to 1800
public opinion
doctrines
writings
archives
maps

Historical Periodical Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.

The Times Digital Archive
The Times (London) from 1775-1985.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily 1980-present. Access full-text articles from newspapers (international, national, and regional)

Eastern European History

Primary vs. Secondary

SLU Libraries Electronic Text Collections

Important Terms

Historical Periodical Databases

Primary Source Web Sites