Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1994), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), and The New York Times (1851-2014)...more.
Artemis is a search platform that allows searching of Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive, The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2011, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, and The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 at the same time.
Primarily 1980-present. Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides access to full-text articles from newspapers (international, national, and regional).as well as business, financial, and company information; current and historical court cases, codes, and brief legislative histories for State and United States bills that passed.
This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Search across all content or select one of the collections....more.
1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.
1789-present. Congress is interested in pretty much everything, including immigration, refugee situations, and naturalization. Congressional materials indexed (including selected full text) include U.S. legislative information such as congressional hearings, committee prints and reports, Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports and more. Congressional Hearings include the deliberations from when law creation, as well as expert witness testimony. CRS Reports include overviews of more recent issues such as the Syrian Refugee Crises, immigration policies and enforcement.
Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. more.
When searching primary source library databases, make sure you're searching for keywords and phrases that were used during the time period you're researching.