Skip to main content

Christianity in Africa and Asia: SOURCES OF BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

This guide is designed for use by the undergraduate students in Prof. McClymond's Christianity in Africa and Asia class (TH 336), Spring, 2013.

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

Biographical Dictionary of Christian MissionsRef. BV3700 .B56 1998

 

See entries for Africa and Asia in "Biographies by Region of Service" on pp. 782ff. and entries for Africa and Asia and the Middle East in "Biographies of Non-Western Persons" on pp. 808-810.  Longer entries with bibliography.

 

Dictionary of African Christian Biography

 

The DACB is an international undertaking aimed at producing an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of African Christian leaders, evangelists, and lay workers chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Christian communities in Africa. An international team of scholars and church leaders—primarily of African citizenship—is facilitating the project. Contributors are drawn from academic, church, and mission communities in Africa and elsewhere.

While the growth and character of Christianity in Africa is without historical precedent, information on the major creative and innovative local figures and leaders of this growth—from local evangelists and pastors to nationally known Christian leaders—is sadly lacking from the standard historical and biographical reference works.

The dictionary will cover the whole field of African Christianity from earliest times to the present and over the entire continent. Broadly interconfessional, historically descriptive, and exploiting the full range of oral and written records, the dictionary will be produced in English, and ultimately in French, Portuguese, and Swahili. (description adapted from DACB web site)

 Dictionary of Christian BiographyRef. BR1700.3 .D53 2001

 

See "Index of Places of Death" for entries on China, East Indies, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Hong Kong, India, Inner Mongolia, Japan, Korea, The Philippines, Siam, Singapore, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Taiwan, Tanzania, West Africa, Zaire, Zambia.  Brief biographical snippets only, no bibliography.

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083